20 and 21 October


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
October 22nd 2005
Published: October 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

20 October

Hi Folks,

No photos today - just blurb!!

Day started with Wawa Wasi. Everyone was there again with the exception of Alberto. No sign of him all this week. Was strange today as the WW was run by a friend of Julia´s whilst she was cooking out back. Didn´t ask any questions - thought it best not to!!

Today we made a mobile of butterflies. I had a huge sheet of cardboard and drew eight butterflies on it. Cut them out and the kids coloured them in (which they love). Once finished, I bent the wings back (to give the impression that they were flying) and strung them at all different lengths from a coat hanger to make a mobile. The kids thought it was great. Giovani and Elias did their usual today and poor Karina was the victim. They went for her because she wouldn´t hand over a toy and she ended up with bruises on her face where they grabbed her. We also had a spitting incident from Giovani at lunch time. Trouble is that they don´t understand the word no, but I´m reluctant to do anything else except yell at them!! That´s me finished work for the weekend, so won´t be back until Monday.

Have decided that I´ll probably do 6 weeks at Wawa Wasi and three weeks at another placement (probably either the girls or boys orphanage). In the last week (4 December) I´m going to double up my hours so that I can stop a week early and go travelling to Machu Pichu and Lake Titicaca (week of 11 December). One of the other girls is interested in travelling with me that week which will be good. I´ll head back to Lima for 18 December so I can catch my flight to the USA and catch up with my mum and family there over Christmas and new year.

At lunch time, the cook dished up guinea pig (fortunately not for the veggies!!). Some of the group tried it, but I reckon even in my non -veggie days I would have drawn the line. The girls said it was pretty close to chicken in taste, but nothing startling.

After lunch we had a volunteer group photo. CCS have one every month and all volunteers and staff are included. All volunteers receive a copy. Can´t attach as I don´t have it electronically and haven´t found any scanners yet!!

One of our group (Lesley Siemens from Florida) is leaving tomorrow, so a crowd of us headed into town for dinner and a few drinks. This was the first time I was out in town at night (CCS advise that you only eat at homebase for the first few weeks to reduce the risk of getting ill, and to give yourself time to adjust to altitude etc). We went to Ninos in town (restaurant) for pizza. Cicki and I ordered Cristal beer, and it came in the largest bottle imaginable. Did manage to drink it though!! Afterwards we headed to Cafe New York in Gringo Plaza where I had a huuuuge piece of cake and my first Pisco Sour. Pisco Sour is lovely. Kind of cocktail(ish) and made of brandy. Tastes strongly of lime which was nice and refreshing. Didn´t really seem alcoholic at all!! The crowed of us then weaved (literally) our way back to base and I slept like a log!!

21 October

Planning a lazy weekend this one, and today was certainly that!! Slept until 9am, had a shower (probably don´t need to tell you it was freezing), and checked out the cookery lessons in the kitchen. Keen to learn how to make the Peruvian equivalent of salsa sauce (ahi). Was fine until I ended up beside a bowl of raw fish and had to bail out at that point!!

Then headed into town where I discovered a resource shop which is great for Wawa Wasi. Bought some balloons and some clips. Planning to make clocks from the remainder of my paper plates. The clips I bought will let me make moveable hands. Was thinking today that in total I will spend 28 days at WW (didn´t work there Mon or Tues of my first week). I normally try to prepare something for them to colour which links with a song, as well as a craft. That will be 56 things I need to plan in total - much more than I do for Girls Brigade at home!! It´s amazing the ideas you can find when you have to!!

After lunch I had the luxury of three hours solititude reading - mostly up on the roof. It was great!! A lot of the volunteers are away on the llama trek this weekend, so the house is pretty quiet. Some of them also finished up this weekend and headed home. Really enjoyed just having some space and time to myself.

Anyway - have been here for the last hour e-mailing and updating this diary. Will attach some photos with the next update to make it more interesting!

Ciao

Lesley x



Advertisement



23rd October 2005

cooking!
hope you will cook peru-food when you are here next time!! love esther

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb