The second day


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
August 17th 2005
Published: August 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today I was supposed to go to the Nero Street drop in center. This is a place for street vendor children to stop in a get a warm meal and to do their homework. I ended up going back to the orphanage beause the drop in center was closed.

Alyson, Nigel and I first helped out in the kitchen, which was enjoyable. Some of the boys worked with us, but not all of them so we got a chance for some one on one with a few. It was great. The women in the kitchen are very sweet. I loved starting their today. It was a good way to ease into the day. We then helped some of the boys with homework and played frisbee and futbol.

Tomorrow I will be going to work in the nursing home, which I am very excited about. The people there only speak Quechua, which is an Andean language. It is not latinized at all. I have learned one phrase so far: Allichu potatu helimanchu. It means: can I take your photograph? As you can see, it is very different than Spanish. I want to go there because the adults there are looked down upon because they speak Quechua. Actually anyone who speaks Quechua is thought to be backwards, I´m told. So the elderly are a population very much in need of love here. One of the girls has been doing hand massages to the people there. I plan to do the same. I think this might even be more rewarding than working with the children. I can´t wait. Obviously I will take a ton of pictures!

Adios. Hasta mañana.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb