Not there yet, but ready to go!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
August 10th 2005
Published: August 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I will be leaving for Ayacucho in THREE DAYS! I've decided to keep this online journal in the hope that it will motivate me to record my experience. I also want to keep you folks at home informed about my trip, for those of you who are interested. Afterall, without your encouragement and support, I would not be making this journey.

Monday I learned my job assignment for the two weeks that I will be in Peru. I will be working at a Wawa Wasi (Baby House) which is a community run daycare for families living in extreme poverty. A woman will volunteer her home for other families to bring their children and the government provides her with a small amount of food and toys. As a volunteer, I will mainly be taking care of the babies and all the things that babies need. I will also be facilitating games and activities and keeping the kids busy. I am super excited about my placement, even though I don't have much experience with the little ones. The best thing is, my level of spanish is about the same as theirs, so we should be able to relate pretty well! I can't wait to see what these youngsters will teach me about their culture.

For the most part, I am packed and ready to go. Just a couple days of work to get out of the way. Next time I write, I will be high in the mountains, many miles away, and my journal enteries are sure to be much more exciting than this one!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb