Hermana Liz


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
October 5th 2011
Published: October 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hermana Liz,, that's what the girls call me. 😊

Oh the first week and everything it brings! Hermana Liz, means sister Liz. Haha, it's funny to think of them calling me a sister in English. As far as the "job shadowing" process is concerned, it's going OK. Hermana Gloria and I have been working together this week, and she is WONDERFUL. It's very difficult because I feel like I can't express myself very well yet but with her (most of the time) she has enough patience for me to talk about something more than "Como estas" and "hola."

Umm news update. Today is the day I'm going to have my first class here at the Home with the children after they get out of school. Wish me luck! I think it will be 3 days a week for about an hour, depending on how it's going. Also, I've started working on my resume in Spanish to teach English elsewhere during the mornings (and get paid). We shall see how this goes.. I have no idea how to teach, but people tell me that most places are desperate enough for native English speakers that I shouldn't have a problem.

It's hard to get close with the girls because of the language barrier. Add the fact that they are middle schoolers and act EXACTLY the same as any middle school girl you would imagine acts would think of and it's challenging to say the least. I can see the little cliques, the ones that have an attitude, the ones that are so so so super sweet, the ones who are oh so boy crazy, the ones who are shy. It is frustrating because I can see and understand, but expressing myself to them on higher level thinking (emotional and spiritual conversations) is HARD.

My Spanish is coming along, but it's like I've hit a wall. I think I'm going to try and find a class or something because I'm conversational, but I'm not where I want to be.

One more thing,, I sprained my ankle 😞 I was so so so mad! Haha, I went to have an X-ray and it was 13 soles (their currency) witch equates to about 5 bucks give or take. The day I sprained my ankle was a good day, but a rough night. One girl drank Pine-Sol because her sister had not came home all weekend, the little 5 year old locked herself in the bathroom for about an hour, and I sprained my ankle. Sandra is the little girls name that locked herself in the bathroom, she's about 5. She was staying here because she was lost, someone found her, and brought her here. She got here a day before me. Hearing her cry for her mom just about tore me apart. The good news is, her mom came and picked her up the next day.. she was only here for about 5 days.

My ankle is getting better everyday, and I have something that I keep on it all the time because I don't want to twist it again. The girls play with my hair, and talk with me a little more everyday. So it's still tough, but it is getting better.

That's all I have for now I'll try to post some pictures, sooon!

Much love to all,, send your love to the senorititas! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb