Leaving Arequipa


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
May 30th 2011
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Getting out of Arequipa and hitting Cusco. I think that will be the final destination and I plan to hike an alternate Inca trail and multiple day rafting in the Apurimac. Bus leaves tonight at nine and is an overnight ride.

Last night I had a ridiculous dinner with pig, alpaca, and beef. It was nice to come back from the hike with that meal. I also hit the Andean Museo here in town where they have what is perhaps the world´s best mummy remains. It was from a sacrificial girl that they uncovered on top of a volcano in 1995 I believe. When the volcano erupted, the glacier melted up high and thus the discovery of the girl who was dressed and had sacrificial pieces near her body. It was very impressive. The Plaza de Armas was a reminder of how colonial towns were set up in Mexico.

Overall Arequipa is a great place. It is clean, great food, and distinct architecture. There is also a lot of activities around the city.

I had to go to the barber today. I was tired of tasting leftover breakfast jam and toothpaste all day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb