Colca Canyon Day 2


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Colca Canyon
March 9th 2010
Published: March 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

South America has yet ceased to amaze me. Every single corner I turn seems to bring with it a brand new breath taking view and I have to say that Peru is currently the winner.

This morning was a 5am wake up to see if we could see any condors flying through the canyon.

We were so lucky. On the way to the condor view point we saw 4 sitting atop a hill and as they began to fly, 14 more decided to join them. What a great display - fantastic to see them flying through the valleys. And given that there are only around 70-80 condors in Peru, I felt very fortunate to see 18 all at once.

Then there was a trek through the canyon for an hour, taking in the scenery. After the trek, we stopped to see more tombs (no bones this time) and a beautiful white church with lots of locals outside including the cutest little girl with her new 15 day old llama pet with whom she was totally in love with. We also stopped to try some cactus plants (the sour one was nice, the orange one tasted a bit too much like melon for me) and stopped to try on the traditional Colca Canyon dress. The clothes were so pretty but there were so many layers. I have no idea how they walk around and work in them all day. It's a high necked, long sleeved blouse with an intricate waistcoat tucked into a skirt which is tucked into another skirt topped off with a flowery hat. And underneath all of that, I still had my jeans, trainers and t-shirt on.

We came back to the nearest town to our hotel and went to market where I bought myself an alpaca wool jumper which is my favourite purchase so far (not that I've actually made very many!)

Rounded off the evening by sitting in the lobby of the hotel by the fireplace. Great couple of days.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 99; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb