Arequipan hell


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Apurímac » Abancay
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Arequipa from Lima on Friday morning, around 10:30. We took the economical bus, which was the wrong choice. Cruz del Sur has three levels of comfort : luxury, ideal and economical. We opted for the cheapest and were rewarded with a 16 hour bus ride with no bathroom. We did stop one time around 2 am at some random little Pervuian bus stop with bathrooms and what appeared to be a dog kennel. With around 3 hours left in the trip vendors were allowed on to sell completely random products. I had no problem with them peddling the buses for cash but the volume with which they yelled at us was offensive. The take home story is this: when traveling long distances via Cruz del Sur, don´t go economical.
Ok, so dispite the bladder busting bus ride, Arequipan Hell has another source . Arequipa has much to offer (I´m guessing). I would not know however, from experience as I have been bed ridden for the past 48 hours.
From the top.
The first night we were here in our hostel we decided to go out to the bars with Michael, our Scottish friend. I was feeling questionable when we left and after 2 drinks I was positive that I must return to the hostel. So about 10 o´clock I left my two buddies at the bar and headed home. The next 12 hours consisted of sweating, seizure - like shivering and dizzy stumbling to the bathroom. The first 12 was definitely the worst, I was seriously beliving that I was in a Peruvian cult camp headed up by a huge x-NFL black man, he looked a lot like a bigger Mr. T. Half the night was spent plotting how I could escape. The other half was spent with my face in a toilet/trashcan/bush. I am incredibly tired and have had 2 pieces of bread and 1 bannana in the past 2 days. I need to find something that is unlike the usual greasy Peruvian food to calm my stomach. Hopefully tomorrow I feel much better becaus we are going on the Colca Canyon Trek on Wednesday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb