Huaraz - Jeff


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Huaraz » Huascaran National Park
October 4th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola de Peru!

Huarez is incredible! Brij and I came here directly from the chaos of Lima- we were there for 2 hours and jumped on a bus for 9 hours to Huarez. It was brutal!

It is amazing how poor this country is and how dedicated they are to farming and helping others. Everyone has been so friendly even offering us change to make a local phone call.

After sleeping until 11 the next morning, we met up with the ultimate guys that own a climbing and biking guide service- Galaxia Expeditions. We assembled our bikes in their shop yesterday and repaired a broken part on Brijs bike. That afternoon we went on our first bike ride to 10500ft.

Today we went up in to the mountains with our bikes and the guides for 4 hours. It was rough- we went to 12,200ft. I had a flat tire at 11,000ft. These Peruvian guys are crazy- when I am reincarnated, I want to be Peruvian. They are high altitude bad-asses that will bike down terrain that I wouldn´t walk down. I will send some photos. One of the guys biked off of the summit of a 5,000 meter peak through snow and in crevass territory I might add. We have been trying to acclimitize but it is difficult after being here for 2.5 days. Next week, we are biking to 4700 meters. Thank you Diamox!

Brij and I have been so impressed with the food. In fact, we have cooking lessons tomorrow from a lady that we met at a restaurant. Our newest idea is to open a Peruvian restaurant in Anchorage. I will send some more photos when I have time.

I am off to get some more good Peruvian food...

Jeff



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BikingBiking
Biking

Huascuran National Park


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb