T minus 4 days


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Amazonas
March 8th 2011
Published: March 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Step 1 - Get to Lima

Greg and I (and Larry a day later) are flying using American Airline miles. Hence the long route through Chicago and Miami. It's worth the extra stop to get the extra legroom in 1st class. Larry's flight is direct to Miami from LA.

I guess it's time to start thinking about this trip. We leave in 4 days. "We" are me and Greg. Larry will join us in Lima on Tuesday (the 15th). We are meeting Steve Burgess in Lima. I haven't met Steve but he knows Greg and Larry and is taking a team from his church to Bagua later this year. This is his scouting trip I guess. I'm giving him the benefit of the doubt and I'll assume he's a good guy. I figure most of you reading this know who Larry and Greg are but for the few unfortunates that stumble across this blog by accident let me tell you about the players. Greg is my friend and also my Pastor at the Newhall Church of the Nazarene. He grew up in the jungle as his parents were missionaries for better than 40 years in the Peruvian Amazon jungle. Greg thinks it is fun to get up very early and run long distances. A few years ago Greg decided (on a whim) to run an ultra marathon so I went with him to identify the body should he die trying. He came in 6th place (2nd in the women's division). I mention this as a way to explain Greg is a freak. Larry, Greg's Dad, was the only Doctor for miles/days for most of his life in the jungle. He and his wife, Addie, ran a clinic and bible school in the jungle. A couple of years ago Larry, at age 70, rode a bicycle from Chiclayo (on the Peru coast) over the Andes and into the jungle. It was Greg's idea and Greg and a few other brave (?) souls joined him on this adventure. This just proves the apple does not fall far from the tree. Greg sent an email with our itinerary today. Look for the map in this blog to get an idea of where we'll be. My goal is to post photos and witty commentary as often as possible. I don't think I'll be away from an Internet connection for more than 2 consecutive days. Unless Greg gets me killed trying some crazy stunt. I've added a map showing the route to Lima.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb