Rainforest...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Amazonas
November 19th 2008
Published: November 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, the last adventure i had in Peru was to head into the rainforest, which was excellent. We flew into the area and then had to take a rickety bus for an hour to get to the river and then a 2 hour boat ride to get into the area we were staying in. Just amazing, but the heat and humdity were a killer. We had a guide for various activities and so got to explore the rainforest at day and night and saw loads of amazing creatures - mackaws, snakes, spiders, caymans, a variety of bids (although the tucan´s remained elusive) and even a rare two-toed sloth (although i´ve no photos of that as it was night and it was up a tree)... And for all the geographers i even got to explore an ox-bow lake by dug out canoe. I really enjoyed it and we were even treated to a proper tropical rainstorm whilst in the rainforest, which made getting back very interesting! The computer i´m on is a bit slow and temperamental and so will just upload a couple of photos to show you the rainforest. Well that´s it for Peru, just another day in Lima and then Chile bound...




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



21st November 2008

it's really an amazing trip you are having!
Lucy, while viewing your photos and your short stories, I often find myself immerse in your world as if I were there experiencing ans seeing those lovely views from my proper eyes. Especially the macchu Picchu part, I absolutely love it! since I was in college studying spanish, and learning Latin American history and heritage, I established the long term desire to visit it myself! now you are there already, standing in the ritual sites of macchu Picchu and jungle forest! it's really an amazing trip you are having. I hope one day I can make my journey up there soon after you! Please keep updating your travel diary, I really enjoy it. it is actually one of my best pleasure times in the hectic research work.. wish you all the best! xxxx
22nd November 2008

Looks amazing!
Hi Lucy, It looks a fabulous trip, your photos are fantastic! Cold and wet in Exeter, I'd stay in Peru!! Jen and John

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb