Wobbly Week


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay
August 10th 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This week has seen a few important events, some positive, some negative, lots of ups and downs.

UP
I had my first class on Wednesday. Teaching mainly adults of a fairly high level. And this appeared to go really well! I was happy with it. My plan went perfectly and everyone participated. My students were friendly and fun. And afterward I was on a massive high, so I went for a GnT. 😊

UP & DOWN
Thursday was my 22nd birthday. It was fun, everyone was great. I got two cakes. You can read the blog about it... At the same time I did miss seeing my friends.

DOWN
Friday was a massive fail! I realised half an hour before class that I had the wrong book for the level I was teaching and therefore had planned the wrong lesson! ARGHHHHH! What a nightmare!! So I ask David to see his book, and in my panic plan a lesson for the wrong module!! ARGGGGGGHHHHHHHH! And realise 5 minutes before the lesson when a student comes over to me and askes where the class is for FCE2, I had planned for FCE1. ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. Not good!!! 😞 😞

UP
So, luckily, I bump into the lovely Nora, who sorts out all our books. She gets me the books 2 minutes before the lesson... and I sailed through it. It was fine! Went well even. I handled it. Which made me think, if I can managed a lesson under such pressure, I can do anything! 😊

DOWN
Saturday was my brothers wedding, and I missed it. This hurt a lot. I really wich I could've been there. I've seen the photos, yeah, and it looks like it was a great day. And I missed it, and I can never get that back. This was a very wobbly day. 😞

UP
The weekend went well! Shopping, eating, BBQ, taking photos (see facebook), walking lots. And it got warmer!!! YES!!

DOWN
I walked so far at the weekend that I got very nasty blisters on my feet! OUCH!!! 😞
Also I got a lift home on Saturday night by a nice young man, but one who drank three beers during the journey home... Normally, I would ask to get out of the car, but in a city where everything is 'dangerous', at night, when I don'y know my way home, I though it safer to stay in the car. To be honest, the journey was quite fun!

DOWN
We are looking for somewhere to live. Some one tells us that there are some studio flats for rent for 300,000 G a month (about £45 I think: 7000 g = £1) so we went to have a look, and they actually don't exist. Now I enjoy living with Mical. She has looked after me well. We get on well. All is good. But I long to be able to unpack all my thinks properly and have a place to decorate with my photos, spread out my things, listen to my music (which Mical hates - haha). So the not having somewhere to live, to move in, is getting a bit annoying. It is a feeling of limbo really.

UP
We decided today to move into the flat in the centre. So this time next week I could have my own room and a place for my things! It will finally feel like I live here. 😊 😊










Advertisement



10th August 2010

Paraguay
Hi honey, Yes, they do know who foreigners are right away. I was in the same position as you were 26 yrs ago. You kinda get used to it though and then you feel one of the gang. What I love about Paraguay is .... you are YOU here and back home, it feels as if you are just one in a million of milliones! Men won't be able to keep their eyes off you because you are a lovely girl, it does get a tad annoying when they make some really gross comments - they think they can grab your attention that way but all they are doing is making themselves look bad. When I first arrived, I would get so many young men getting up off their seats on the bus... now..... they just ask me to shove up and I am left standing until I actually fight my way to the back of the bus and sulk lol. I'm sorry to hear that you missed your brother's big day and NO, you won't get it back but just think, you will be back home before you know it and perhaps share their first anniversary with them. I'm glad that you all decided to rent the flat and you will settle in a lot more and be able to listen to YOUR type of music. Remember if you need any advice or just want to come and let off steam to an older person ( Have I just admitted my age? pmsl) you are most welcome to come into my bat cave. Hugs and btw , have I told you that you should take up photography, you seem to be a natural! xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb