Things I've learnt in Asunción - 9 Dec 2010


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
December 9th 2010
Published: December 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

AndesfootAndesfootAndesfoot

New name for a foot covered in mosquito bites
Things are really heating up here, find myself sweating all the time, in fact I'm sweating right now. It is also bringing out all kinds of beasties, found two cockroaches sunbathing (or dying) in my hallway there are moths everywhere and my feet look like the Andes thanks to all the mosquito bites. For those who were interested in the football update, Libertad won 5-0 to secure the championship. Anyway now on to what I've learnt!

Never, ever walk around your kitchen naked in the dark...because you won't see the cockroaches and they won't see you, you will just feel something flapping around your flappy thing. Now that's what I call Kichen Nightmares!

I have antidrugsofficerphobia...after getting stopped in customs and grilled by a very red-eyed (possibly smoking his confiscations) anti-drugs officer. Didn't realise how scared I was until I saw him on the news a few days later announcing a 7 kilo cocaine find and did a little wee (don't worry it just mixed in with the sweat).

It rains every couple of days...I did not sign up for that.

I'm a master mosquito killer...killed one while texting, followed that up with a clap-without-looking-because-i-was-watching-the-tv and the dead insect dropped onto my desk. In the words of Napoleon Dynamite later copied by Rocket: "Skills".

If in lunchtime doubt make an omelette...fast, cheap, healthy and doesn't fill you up so you can have a big "Merienda" the best meal of the day.

Rom-coms are getting better...or I'm getting older, sadder and/or more effeminate because I kinda enjoyed "Going the distance" even taking into account Drew Barrymore.

You never get bored of watching friends...Monday to Friday 1pm to 2pm double bill. Ross just called Emily 'Rachel' at his wedding. Oh - My - God (Janice voice!).

Answer of the week
"What do you want for your birthday?" Me to Carmen's 5-year-old (soon to be 6) nephew
"Something cool, but not girly...a sword with flashing lights"
If anybody knows where you can buy a sword with flashing lights in Paraguay - please let me know!!

Advertisement



28th June 2012

Mosquitoes Love Me!
I don't know what possessed me to make reservations for Paraguay in December. Your blog reminds me how much I dislike mosquitoes. Would it be better to buy insect repellant in Paraguay or better to bring some with me from the U.S.? I am enjoying reading your blogs. I have blogged since 2006. I love to read blogs before visiting my future destination. Thanks for any help that you can share! Everette

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb