Things I've learnt in Asunción - 24 Nov 2010


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
November 24th 2010
Published: November 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

No photos this week (I'm writing this in the airport on my way to Colombia so no time for that!) - it is probably a relief considering the first thing I learnt this week! Next week I'll have a 3-in-1 things I've learnt in Bogotá, Asunción and Buenos Aires - oh the excitement!

Sometimes I subconciously strip...I only learnt this the other day, it was really hot and I'd taken my shirt off, but it was only when I stood up to answer the door that I realised I had no jeans on either - I'd taken them off in the process of sitting at my desk without realising!

I miss cricket...there is just no way of watching it here and the Ashes start tomorrow - SAD FACE

Sparrows are a bit too confident for my liking...yesterday I saw one on my balcony pop his head round the corner and take a peek into my bedroom. The cheek!

Mosquitoes have no redeeming features...seriously there are none. NB I resisted a Drogba joke here.

My girlfriend can't pronounce Fabregas...even though it is a Spanish surname, I find that odd, I don't think there are any English surnames I can't pronounce.

Best thing I was taught this week

If your wooden guampa (receptacle to drink Terere from) is cracked put water in it...my girlfriend taught me this and a couple of days later the wood had expanded again and pretty much covered over the cracks. Pretty cool eh?

Question of the week
Chilling in the car on the way to the countryside (4 in the back on the motorway) and my sister-in-law's sister-in-law (sister-in-law once removed maybe?) asks:
"Do people drink Terere in your country?"
"No"
"Why not?"
Good question, I suppose the Terere export market hasn't quite made it to England yet, in fact it hasn't really made it out of Paraguay!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb