Reflections


Advertisement
Guyana's flag
South America » Guyana
March 21st 2007
Published: March 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

My trip to Guyana was an incredible experience that I will not soon forget. I experienced a way of life that before, I had only seen on the TV or in movies. It was like getting in a time machine on the 1st, setting it to the early 1900s, and then setting the return date as the 17th. I went back in time but everything in the present just kept on going. My physics professor described the feeling as surreal. That seems to sum it up pretty well. The first day back in class had me wanting to drop out and move to Guyana. The second day I was just considering dropping Differential Equations. Today I am just doing my best to catch up on the world that moved on without me.

My schedule permitting, and finances, I plan to go again. I’d like to spend more time in the interior and considerably less time in Georgetown. It felt too much like New Jersey to me: dirty, crowded, and things much better waiting just beyond the horizon. As far as scenery is concerned, Annai wins by far. The mountains are so close and always look incredible. I also like that they actually had grass and trees unlike Lethem. Although, Lethem had the old west cowboy feel. Also, people seemed more accepting and open in Lethem but that could have just been Mrs. Foo.

To sum up: I am extremely grateful to Dad for providing the opportunity, and money, for my trip. It has definitely broadened my view of the world. Hopefully the experience will not turn into a trophy in a photo album but will be reflected in a new way of thinking. Don’t forget to check out RAM at RAMUSA.org! And thanks to the rest of the group who made it such an awesome first trip and took great pictures!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb