Windy day


Advertisement
Falkland Islands' flag
South America » Falkland Islands
March 24th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!

Well I can take the Falkland Islands off my bucket list of places to see!

We arrived about 6 am Monday morning into Stanley, Falkland Islands. The night had been a rough one at sea and I anticipated high winds and cold weather, so I bundled up in preparation for the chilly day in town with my new turquoise cashmere sweater and scarf that I picked up in Scotland.

The Falkland Islands consists of approximately 200 islands covering 4700 sq. miles. The islands are ruled by the British government however Argentina still claims it to be theirs and call the islands Islas Malvinas. We were told, out of courtesy, not to wear any clothing resembling Argentina when we arrived. In 1982 Argentine Special Forces invaded the islands and met fierce resistance from the Royal Marines and within two months were defeated. This war ultimately ended the military dictatorship in Argentina and eventual restoration of constitutional democracy in that country.

We had to take a Tender (a small boat carrying about 60 passengers taking us to and from the cruise ship) into town where we met up with the tour that took us on a bumpy 4 x 4 safari ride to the private property of Bluff Cove Lagoon penguin rookery where we were able to see Gentoo Penguins and one King Penguin with 4 chicks. We could get as close as 5 yards to the penguins and as long as we kept our distance, they felt safe and free to go about their business. They were building nests and running back and forth to the sea to collect food for the family. You should see these little guys running, they are so darn cute, I wanted to take one home with me, but once the property owner told us they were full of fleas, I was quickly reminded, I didn't need another pet.

The owners were very welcoming as during tour season, the ladies provide guests with hot beverages and homemade goodies inclusive with the tour at the charming Sea Cabbage Cafe. I enjoyed a cup of hot tea, delicious carrot cake and a scone with diddly dee jam and cream, a yummy specialty of the islands.

Thank goodness I was prepared with my new cashmere ensemble as it was OMG windy and cold. It was so bad the afternoon tours were canceled. It took 1-1/2 hour waiting in long lines to get back to the ship as the wind was so high, safety measures allowed only one Tender in at the dock at one time.

At 6pm we received an emergency announcement from the Captain giving us the bad news that we are unable to see Cape Horn as the violent weather is too fierce and it would be unsafe for him to take us that route so we are shifting our course and heading toward the Magellan Straits instead. What a bummer, this was the highlight of the cruise for me.

Well being this is a sea day, I am heading out of the cabin for the day for perhaps a game of Yahtzee and Bingo and maybe relax a bit with a book by the indoor pool.....life on the Star Princess :- )


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

me at the rookeryme at the rookery
me at the rookery

you can tell how windy it was, i'm having a bad hair day


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb