Missing in the mist


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
April 1st 2015
Published: April 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

So I headed to Latacunga. After telling a cab driver trying to rip me off two dollars I arrived at my hostel and began searching out the first restaurant in the area. My prayers were answered and 20 minutes later I was ordering pasta carbonera. My stay essentially consisted of me eating Mexican and Italian food, sleeping and hanging out with some other Canadians. All in all it was a great trip, except when the bus back to the village made a pit stop so the gringo could go and pee in the side of the dirt road. That is the last time I ever ask if there is a bathroom on the bus...

I made it back to the village a new man. Monday started and I was happy to learn that my friend at the hostel had to decided to stay another week. He was another Coloradan and was associated with some of the people I knew from home. Monday morning offered some beautiful weather to walk up to my source spring and realize that there are way more tanks and springs than I have on my map. I was noticing the potable water system. Oh well It have my a good chance to get my protocol down and I did even notice a few of my irrigation tanks.Tomorrow offers the chance to walk the largest irrigation line with a local man. Hopefully he isn't just boosting his ego by saying he knows the irrigation system perfectly...but we will see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



2nd April 2015
IMG_2849

Great photos Mateo!
You have a great eye for photos, great job. I too enjoyed the "big city" of Latacunga between more rural parts of my trip.
2nd April 2015
IMG_2849

Thanks
I like that big city is in Quotes. My time there consisted of my shoving Italian and Mexican food into my mouth last weekend. I was a little sick and I think the familiar food did a world of help for my stomach. Also its a great place to meet up with other hikers and travelers. Got some data today on a possible new spring since the Malingua Pamba system is not active. Tomorrow I will look at the source for Tenguche and the largest system. The math on this system will follow soon.
2nd April 2015
IMG_2849

GPS
Do me a favor and included GPS coordinates when you can so i can track things on Google Earth, maybe do a separate, nerdy blog on locations with photos? thanks,
2nd April 2015
IMG_2849

No problem
I can do that and it may even help with google earth.

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb