Attractions in and around Quito and the Quilitoa region


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
July 2nd 2010
Published: July 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I needed the last few weeks in Ecuador to further improve my Spanish skills and to make the excursions in and around Quito that I had not done so far. Additionally, I still wanted to go hiking in the Quilitoa region, one of the highlights of Ecuador !

In Quito, I went to the Museo de la Ciudad, the Panecillo, the Teleférico, the Basílica. I enjoyed the Basílica the most, because the view over the city was very beautiful. Not needed to go up to the Teleférico to see the city from the sky ! At the Teleférico, I took the opportunity to inhale oxygen (I think this used to be a hype in Asia). It felt a little bit like being tipsy in the beginning, but without the unpleasant side effects. The region around Quito is also interesting. Everybody goes to Mitad del Mundo to take a picture at the middle of the world, but personally I enjoyed my trip to Molinuco much more. This is a nature reserve that is not known very well to tourists and that is not mentioned in the guidebooks. A lot of nice waterfalls, nice hikes and only few people because it is quite a hassle to get there.

I had heard a lot of great things about Quilitoa and I was far from disapointed. Many people just do a day trip to the laguna Quilitoa, but that is a pity. Everybody should spend at least 3 to 4 days in this region, because the hikes are extraordinary ! The adventure usually starts when trying to reach the starting point of the trip, which was Isinlivi for me. I left Quito in the morning and went by buses/pickup to Isinlivi were I arrived only late in the afternoon. There is really nothing to do in this village, but it was clear from the start the the views would be amazing ! My guidebook only mentioned one (expensive) hostal in this town called "Llullu Llama", but there are cheap alternatives. Few houses away from the hostal, there is a shop were I would learn later that they also rented rooms at 1/5th of the price I was paying in the hostal. Fortunately, the food in Llullu Llama was very good and the views were very beautiful (esp. from the bathroom), but nevertheless I will not make this mistake again.
From there I went on foot to another small town called Chugchilán. I arrived after a 5-hours hike while enjoying some of the most amazing sceneries I had every seen. Chugchilán was slightly more popular with tourists than Isinlivi and finding good accommodation was easier. The next day, I went on foot from Chugchilán to Quilitoa. The sceneries were nice as well, but unfortunately a large part of the way goes via the road and I prefer not to be overtaken by cars while walking. Many people do this hike in the reverse direction, because they prefer walking downhill and maybe I should have done this as well. The hike was rather tough, esp. considering that I was carrying my luggage including food and drinks. The most difficult part was not the 6-hours hike itself, but was not knowing when I would arrive. Every time I asked locals, I got different answers. In some cases, I was told that I was at less than an hour from my destination, while few minutes later others would tell me 3 to 4 hours. It was a relief to get there few hours before dark. The next morning, I could enjoy the sunrise at the laguna Quilitoa and hiked down to the laguna and up again on foot. Many people go back by horse because it is a tough hike through sand that takes 1h30. At least that is what they told me, but I did this in 30min and arrived at the top more quickly than some people taking horses. Sounds like a tourist trap to me. Before going back, I enjoyed a typical dish called Chucchacaras in Latacunga for lunch. This includes various parts of porc, probably more than what we are used to eat ;-) I needed it after 3 days of hiking.

Afterwards, it was time to prepare my backpack to travel to Colombia. Looking back, I have had a wonderful time in Ecuador. I am now fluent in Spanish and I have seen a lot of beautiful parts of the country. The Quilitoa region in particular was amazing ! Nevertheless, there are still many parts of the country I have not discovered. Maybe I should come back later?



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



11th July 2010

Bert, eerste deel zag er echt al veelbelovend uit!! En nu je perfect spaans kunt zal het vervolg nog interessanter worden qua lokale contacten! Amuseer je nog daar, groeten!

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb