After two weeks in the Oriente, a weekend in Baños to recover


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
May 16th 2010
Published: May 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My stay in the Amazon was not exactly what I was expecting. Therefore, I soon decided to reduce the length of my stay from 4 to 2 weeks. Instead, would take one additional week of Spanish classes in Quito and I would go traveling 1 week in Ecuador. The reason I was disappointed about my experience in the Amazon was that there were a lot of other travelers and that there was only very limited contact with the indigenous people. I did not get a lot of opportunities to get to know the Shuar culture nor to practice my Spanish.

In the second week we spent a night deep in the jungle, only surrounded by animal sounds. When we came back to the community, we had to hold on for a while because there was a dangerous snake on the trail. One of the most dangerous snakes of the Amazon ! When I approached it to take a better look, the guide told me to back off immediately. A bite from this snake results in death unless immediate medical attention can be given. There are very effective remedies available in the jungle, but these usually cannot be found in time. This was the first time that I saw our guide hurting an animal. Considering the reaction of the snake, he probably did not have a lot of choice. Once the situation was "under control", we could take a a closer look and we could take some nice pictures.

Before going back to Quito, I spent 2 days in Baños. The thermal hot springs, the hikes and biking trips in the mountains. What a difference ! Particularly the thermal baths were very welcome after 2 weeks without hot water. The water was even so hot that it took me 15min before I could get in. I also did the "tour a cascades" (waterfalls) by bike and went hiking in the surrounding mountains. The sceneries were extraordinary. From some places, you could see mountains, forest, waterfalls and the city at the same time ! Particularly the Tungurahua Volcano was very beautiful.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Excursion deeper in the jungle: Our companyExcursion deeper in the jungle: Our company
Excursion deeper in the jungle: Our company

First time for the puppy to go into the jungle


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb