When People Stop Being Polite, and start being Real


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
March 9th 2007
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Principal, EC

Everyone went to Gualaceo yesterday, but I was sick and nauseus, so Jose stayed home with me. I laid in his parent's bed watching a movie. Jose brought me some chocolate Amor cookies and a bottle of Manzana soda.
When everyone came home from the city, they were angry because they went into the kitchen and no one had cooked dinner. Jose said they made an angry face and Jose said to me, "come on lets go". Jose said we were not going to eat there. So we went to the store and bought 2 breads, 2 tomatoes, and mayonnaise. Jose took a knife from his mom's house and we made tomato sandwiches for dinner. So, we just stayed in our house and played cards and listened to music. It was actually a lot of fun. I love when my husband and I get to relax and hang out together by ourselves.

Today:
I'm on the bus now, everyone stares at me because I am writing in a notebook. They are looking at my book trying to read it but it is in English and they can not. There are 8 ppl to my front hanging on to the bus door. It's ridiculous how many people are crammed into this bus. People are even sitting on the roof, and there are no seats up there, just a little bar to hang on to.
We left this morning without telling anyone. Jose feels frustrated by a lot of things. He feels disrespected and treated like a slave. He works for free with his dad, and when he comes home his mom always makes his dad something special to eat, but nothing for Jose. Jose's dad is being very cheap, so Jose has been paying for things. Jose bought a 50lb. bag of rice and pays electricity bill, and the propane for cooking and hot water. He gives Miggy a little money here and there to buy treats at the store. Jose did not work today.
It is not always like this, but once in a while he doesnt feel appreciated. And he is homesick for the U.S. which I think has more to do with it then he will admit.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.3kb