The Godfather's Fiesta


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
February 10th 2007
Published: February 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today Jose and I slept until noon. We were up late playing cards. His mom says the devil is going to get us. We did our laundry, cleaned his moms house, and I shaved my legs for the first time since I got here, which is about 3 wks now.
We may be going to the Coast soon. Jose's sister, Sandra lives there and Jose's dad is thinking of building a house there.
I went to Church today. The Father is very nice. He asked me, in Spanish, if I was NorthAmerican and if I spoke Spanish. During the service, everyone turns to those around you and says "Paz", which means peace. The Father came around to shake the hands of everyone and say "Paz". To me, he said, "Paz a Norteamerica."
Jose played soccer. He won $5 and charged 10¢ to each player for the use of his ball. He made an extra $1.20.
For dinner, we had delicious chicken, rice, and plantain.
Jose and I went to a party tonight at his godfather's house. His godfather introduced himself as "Fidel, not Castro". He is super nice and looks exactly like Robin Williams. He wanted only to speak English with me, as he was once an illegal immigrant living in Minnesota. He spoke very badly, but I appreciated the effort. However, I understood him better when he spoke in Spanish. There were 2 dance floors, a DJ, and everyone danced, even the priest was there dancing up a storm. Everyone left kind of early, around midnight, and I danced with Jose's padrino. He is very funny, and when Jose said that I was his wife, Fidel started to cry and saying how happy he was. Jose and I got a ride home from the DJ, Homero, he asked me if I had met Mateo. He said Mateo's parents came to visit and they kept stopping the car to take pictures and cried out "OH QUE LINDA, BONITA, BEAUTIFUL, LAS MONTAÑAS!!!"
Homero, gave Jose and I each a Pilsener, but I didn't drink mine. I don't drink much here in Ecuador.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

the djthe dj
the dj

Jose talking with the DJ's


Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb