The Bible and Good Children


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
February 7th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Principal, Azuay, Ecuador
Our neighbor, Kathy came over earlier, she is a cute kid and is 9 years old. She started reading the Bible to me, then she wanted me to read some to her. We read about Adam and Eve and Cain and Abel. In Spanish, the names are different: Adan y Eva. Then Jose started singing songs from a book called "Ritmos del Pueblo de Jesus" or Songs from the village of Jesus. We all sang together and laughed so hard because we were horribly off key. We kept having to stop and say "Ok be serious" but it just led to more laughter.
The kids here are so well behaved and respectful. They address me in the "Usted" form. They read the bible. They do everything they are told. Most of the girls can cook and weave straw. They all play outside together. When they come over to watch a movie, they sit quietly and pay attention. They say please and thank you and do chores around the house. I think kids in the U.S. should be this way and I think once they were before video games and computers. There is no drinking age here, but the kids do not drink. They can go buy it in the store though.
You can still buy things in the store on a "tab" and pay later.
I have been sick for the past 4 days and have not eaten much, so today I am craving American food. I want McDonalds, as grose as that sounds. I was joking with Kathy and I said, "Vamonos a McDonald's." and she asked, "What is McDonalds?" She didn't know what it is! I said a restaurant and made an M in the air. It's kind of amazing that she doesn't know, and maybe a very good thing.
There are no fat ppl here. It's because of the natural food and everyone works hard and exercises. We walk alot and play soccer and volleyball.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb