What I Care About


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
January 23rd 2020
Published: January 23rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Today we visited Picari chocolate as a class and had a free chocolate tasting/informational lesson on what Picari chocolate is all about. I care deeply about how companies operate and their mission, because I care to support businesses with a fair operation over other companies. We learned that Picari chocolate is all gluten free, vegan, and organic. They receiver their cacao from farmers, but their relationship with those farmers doesn't end there. They make sure that the farmers know where and how their cacao ends up by having a number on each product indicating which farm it came from. Along with this, any award they receive they give to the farmers who produced that cacao, and they continue their relationship with them. Santiago (the founder) also has helped farmers and women groups who produce some of the ingredients to become more self sustaining and to be able to have more of an income. Every aspect of the Picari chocolate business spoke to me as I learned more and more. Reflecting on this experience, I look inside myself to see why it meant so much to me. I believe it meant so much to me because I care about how people are treated, no matter what country I am in. This produced a sense of CQ Drive after learning more about the Picari chocolate business. I willingly bought some products from them and plan to continue support their business in the future by telling others about them the mission and business of Picari and continuing to follow along with their business. I have a sense of peace internally knowing that a business can operate in such a way that treats their resources so well, since it seems that many companies in the business world are corrupt and are only in it for the money. Because of this experience, I desire to continue supporting alike businesses with just treatment of their employees and resources.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb