Bahia cont.


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody. Things are going good here. I just finished my second week of language school. I think I am learning a lot. I still cant understand much but I get around pretty easily. Sometimes I have dreams in Spanish too, so maybe that is a good thing I dont know haha. Um lets see. Friday was fun. My language coach and I went to a museum in Bahia. Then later that day I was waiting for a bus to go back to Bahia from my home and this guy on a motorcycle drove by (Well it wasnt really a motorcycle but it wasnt really a moped either. It was something in between.) Well anyways his hat flew off and I went and got it for him and he asked me where I was going and I said Bahia. So he said "vamos." So I got on the back of his little motorcycle and went to Bahia haha. It was pretty funny everyone was looking at the gringo on the back of the bike. It was kinda scary cause roads in Bahia arent like they are in the U.S. There arent really lanes and everyone just kinda goes wherever they want to. It was really fun though, I enjoyed myself. Um then I went for a walk down the beach and there must have been a lot of swell that day because there were waves where there arent usually waves and there were some kids boogie boarding. So I ran to the grocery store and bought a 3 dollar toy boogie board and went in the water. It was really fun all the kids and I were laughing and having a good time. One of the littler kids let me use his nice big boogie board while he used mine. It was fun. Then... um, later that night I hung out with both of my host brothers. It was great. They know a lot of English so we were able to have long conversations. We talked about things I would talk about with my friends at home which was cool. We also ate burgers and walked around Bahia. Bahia is a fun place on Friday nights. Everyone comes out and hangs out on the beach and socializes. Its like a big family party every weekend. Other then that my weekend has been kinda boring. I went surfing and did a lot of reading for my homework. Oh I ate a pizza. It was delicious. So yeah, I guess that is it for now. Tomorrow I start language school again but with a new teacher. Ive graduated to the step up teacher so that is exciting haha. Im gonna go eat dinner now at my favorite restaurant "Muelle Uno." They have great fried shrimp. Well Im off. See ya.

Advertisement



26th May 2008

Your amazing
Hi honey, Know what I love about you? Your amazing ability to have a good time and make an adventure out of an ordinary day...even in Bahia! Just waiting for a bus or walking down the beach, you touch people. Your doing a great job! Love, Mom
26th May 2008

Hello
Hi Andrew, Happy to hear all is well and you are having a great experience in Ecuador. All is well here but the weather has been cold and rainy. Today was the first day of some sun in a couple of days, but it was still cool. Anyway, Francesco leaves in a couple of weeks for his summer training in June. We hate when he has to leave for training because we miss him a lot, but the time usually does go fast. Glad you are doing well. Prayers and hugs, Adriana
27th May 2008

ur fav. cousin!
Hey cuz!! So it sounds like you are having a really good time. I liked your little story about motorcycle guy. That is pretty sick. Miss you like usual! Hope all is well. Take care of yourself. I love you! =) ttyl
31st May 2008

I agree with mom :)

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb