So Much for the Equator Being Hot


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
November 6th 2009
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nothing new this morning...same construction and sleep scenario. I headed into town to to check up on the civil strife in the states and low and behold as soon as I sit down, the power goes out all through town...so I guess it´s time for breakfast.

I head down the row and find Morritz eating at Tiki Limbo, so I join him. I could only get eggs and toast since there was no pump for the water for tea and no blender for juice...yay. I waited around forever for the check and it never came, so I just dropped 2 bucks and headed to get my massage at the Tibetan massage place.

I got a reflexology massage and back massage for an hour for 30 bucks. I also got some information on a Amazonian Shaman in Baños that does a great spiritual cleansing with Ayahuasca. I got a note from Alfons the masseuse to give to the Shaman Enrique who will hook it up...now time to see if my mom wants to participate when she´s here.

After the massage I headed back into town and found the only restaurant with a generator to have some food...since everywhere else was pretty useless. The canadians popped up so they joined me...I had some chicken and a coke in a glass bottle!

After lunch I was headed back to the cabañas to rest and change when I see something I can barely believe...a street vendor had the one thing I have always searched far and wide for...the one thing all the shops in Mall of America had only 6 of...the infamous orange adidas hat! He told me it was 8 bucks, but of course I got him down to 5.50 (even though I pay upwards of 12 in the states)...so I have another orange hat as a back up...woo hoo!

I went surfing around 4. The waves were not too great...very stacked so you couldn´t get a good run in...also it became very crowded since the surf competition is this weekend...everyone doing last minute practice. I was following Braeden out at 5pm when I saw Sandra heading to the beach with her board. She suckered me into going surfing with her farther down the beach, I obliged since she´s SMOKIN HOT!

While we were hanging out in the water waiting for waves, a local started talking to her and asked about her "boyfriend"...which apparently was me...so Sandra is going to be my girlfriend in Ecuador for the next few days until I head to Peru.

I had some amazing waves the second hour of surf...lots of GREAT rides and I´m really learning how to ride this board. Sandra and I caught a few waves at the same time and shared a "moment." 😉.

After surfing, the two of us headed back to the cabañas for a hot shower and to change. On our way back I ran into the Canadians who were headed to the pizza place with excellent brownie sundaes so I told them I would join them. After a shower and change, Sandra, Rahul, and I headed into town to join the canadians. The pizza was pretty good, but pricey...AND THEY DIDN´T EVEN HAVE BROWNIE SUNDAES SINCE THE POWER WAS OUT MOST OF THE DAY! They did have pretty tasty apple cobbler though.

After dinner we headed to the pool bar for pool and drinks. The bartender was watching TV, so we helped ourselves to the beer in the fridge and the mixers in the back...its like you own the place...pretty neat experience.

After a few rounds of pool Braeden, Raya and I headed to Edisson´s kiosk for some drinks. Right when we got there, his new dog pooped right in the middle of the street on the way to the beach...and it was camouflaged because it was the same color as the stones...so it was now time to play "Who´s gonna step in the poop."

For about 10 minutes countless people passed within inches of stepping in it as the three of us eagerly watched for catastrophe...even a barefooter came through and almost grazed it. After much awaited anticipation, we finally had our first winner...a guy walking by himself back from the beach (who barely missed it on his way there) caught it with his heal, slipped, and almost busted his butt...but he managed to save himself from falling and kept walking...he didn´t seem too phased by it. Lucky for us, he only caught the second half of it, so there was plenty for another victim. About 10 minutes after our first guy almost ate it, 4 people, 2 guys and their two girls, started walking our way towards the beach. The second guy with the whitest, newest adidas shoes was headed right for our steaming pile of poo...sure enough it stepped in it just right to have it squish up along the sides of his shoes with the three stripes...it took SOO much effort from Raya and I to not bust out laughing at this poor kids´ fate. After he stepped in it, it was pretty shocked that this just happened to his new shoes...he looked around to see if people saw but we made it look like we were laughing from a joke... he walked to the side of the street and tried to scrape it off on the grass, sand, rocks, curb but didn´t have much luck. He and his group turned around to head back to town and for the rest of his walk down our little booby trapped alley, he was scraping his shoes sideways, downways, upways, and crossways to get the stinky brown stuff off...too bad we didn´t get it on video!

We hung out at the kiosk and had a few drinks til about 3 in the morning then we all called it a night...Raya had a bit too much and started rocking back and forth...poor girl. All in all a pretty great day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb