Livin´ La Vida Montañita


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
November 19th 2006
Published: November 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

MontañitaMontañitaMontañita

Just arrived in our new hostel. i was kinda worn from the trip...sounds kind of repetitive I know

After the exhausting jungle trip Miguel and I agreed that we needed the beach and sunshine again. The girls mentioned that they were planning to go to this little beach city on the coast and mentioned that we should go with them. Even though it was a bit of a back-track, we didn’t care because it was the long weekend here, and apparently everyone rolls into this little town. So, after returning to Baños for one last night, we found a bus to Guayaquil which would host a connector bus to Montañita. We decided to take a day bus for once so we could see the Andes as we traveled through them.

We left Baños at 11am. The bus we were on was just as weak as the last 8 lol. Whatever though, we’re on our way to the sun. The ride was long, 6 hours to be exact but it felt like 10 due to no sleep. We arrived in Guayaquil at 7pm…and oh my God I have never seen such a circus. The bus station was huge, like the size of a football field…and it was PACKED! I mean I’m talking thousands of people. The
On the WayOn the WayOn the Way

Beautiful scenery on the way to Montañita
reason why it’s so big and busy is because Guayaquil is the largest city in Ecuador and its bus station is the main one of the country. That, plus it was the long weekend so everyone had somewhere to go.

We finally found where to line up to buy our tickets. This Canadian girl came up to us and asked us if she and her boyfriend (this dude with a black beard and red bandana) were in the right line. We told them yes and they were relieved haha.

After an hour of mayhem and confusion we jumped on our packed bus. This one took only 3 hours but dropped us off in Salinas which is an hour away from Montañita! So we jumped into a cab. Picture me in the back of a taxi with 3 other people and 2 huge backpacks. Plus I hadn’t eaten since breakfast 10 hours ago, and had to piss…I was a bit choked.

Once I saw the ocean, however, I mellowed out haha. We took a walk through town to check it out a bit and get some food. We were sitting down when I looked up
MontañitaMontañitaMontañita

Rolling through town on my way to the beach...this was as calm as it got on the strip
and saw the Canadian girl and Black Beard again! His name turned out to be Geoff and hers Kelly. They were really nice so we partied with them all weekend. We spent our first night in the worst hostel to date. When we woke up we hit the town. Montañita consists of only 10 blocks of restaurants, shops, hostels, and stands. It’s tiny but it’s dope. We found a new hostel away from the noise (well we thought it was) and moved our stuff. At night, the sand roads were FULL of people…like shoulder to shoulder along the entire strip!

It’s kinda weird but that’s pretty much all I have to say about this stop. The weekend consisted of having drinks at night and chillin in the day. I surfed for like 10 min cause my board broke haha. The best part of this town was the 4 people that we met: Ivan, Brigette, Katty, and Karla. They are from Guayaquil and we had some good times with them. When it was time to leave on Sunday, Karla invited us to stay with her and her mom in Guayaquil so we accepted. Miguel and I said goodbye to
Surf´s Up!Surf´s Up!Surf´s Up!

My board broke after my first wave! I got a whole 15 min of surfing in
Franczesca, Denise, Kelly and Jeff and jumped a bus to Guayaquil.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

ChíllinChíllin
Chíllin

Mr. DJ.....don´t stop the music
ChíllinChíllin
Chíllin

Miguel and Denise...how are the kids D-Rock!!??
Warmin´UpWarmin´Up
Warmin´Up

Check out the Montañita wine! It´s in a little tetra pack haha
Warmin´UpWarmin´Up
Warmin´Up

All I need is a monacle! Mr. Civilized eh?
Warmin´UpWarmin´Up
Warmin´Up

Salut! I´m not a big fan of Bacardi
Warmin´UpWarmin´Up
Warmin´Up

See what I mean...lol
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

San Miguel...quite the ladies man
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

This guy was passed RIGHT OUT on the side walk haha. We jacked his hat lol!!
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

Our good friend Ivan. We met him, Brigette, Karla and Katty here...very good people as you will hear about in my blogs to come
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

On the beach near a big bon-fire. From left to right: Katty, yours, San Miguel, Brigette, Karla
Mont-TownMont-Town
Mont-Town

Very, very chill during the day
Mont-TownMont-Town
Mont-Town

One of the beaches
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

Rockin´ out with JENGA! haha
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

This kid is friends with everyone in Montañita. This is because he comes to your table while you eat, chats it up, cracks some jokes, then asks for your scraps haha...SCAVENGA!
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

Miguel with his friend Diane. She was nice and helped us in Guayaquil
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

I don´t normally act like this ;) It was the town that did it to me lol
Montañita NightsMontañita Nights
Montañita Nights

The Guayaquil crew WHAT!?
The ProblemThe Problem
The Problem

This is why....$5.99 for a twix hahaha..ridiculous!


22nd November 2006

Chicas!
Looks like things went pretty well in that town brother. You need to bring a few of those ladies back to Vic. I guess you took my advice about drinking like a sailor to enhance a freign port.lol. Keep having a good time man. Talk to you soon.
23rd November 2006

RE: Chicas!
SCOTTTY DAAWWWWWG. Ur a wise man...Hey make sure Ronnie has the web address. I think I forgot to give it to him. As for bringing some chicitas back for you, I´ll try and slip 3 past the Peruvian, American, and Canadian border brutha hahaha
29th November 2006

Its looking better now !
This is what I am talking about cheap rhum and beautiful Brazillian girls , now your getting the hang of things ! I like it , hey G-Khans tip for the day "watch out for accorns heheh, Dude "enjoy" its snowing here , alot and coming that way is the only thing keeping me warm .. Live it up braw , stay good, much blessings ... OUUUUTTTTT !

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb