Ecuador - Guayaquil


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Guayaquil
February 13th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My bus arrived in Guayaquil at 9am on Saturday 13 February and I took a taxi to my hotel. It was so nice to turn on the air conditioning and then have my first hot shower in 6 days. In the morning I watched the entertaining Wales Vs Scotland rugby match and then in the afternoon I went for a walk around the city and I got some lunch by the river. Then I went to a travel agency to try and book a flight to the Galapagos Islands. The guy working there had 8 empty beer bottles on his desk alongside an empty bottle of vodka. He was in very good spirits as it was a holiday weekend in Ecuador as they were celebrating carnival. I joined him for a beer as we discussed my options for Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands. Then I returned to my room for a couple of hours to cool down. In the evening I went for dinner at a pizza restaurant and then returned to my room to watch TV. I had a very uncomfortable sleep as there was a mosquito in my room that was doing some serious damage to my legs, feet, hands and arms. I eventually killed it and managed to get a couple of hours sleep but not what I needed after my nightmare journey from Peru the previous night. I had to go and book my flight to Galapagos on Sunday morning and then I went to different pharmacys buying stuff that I would need for my trip and more importantly for my very itchy bites. After applying all my lotions and potions, I went for lunch and then returned to my cool room for the remainder of the afternoon. In the evening I went for dinner and then returned to my room for an early night. I woke up at 6.15am on Monday and took a taxi to the airport for my 9am flight to the Galapagos Islands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1002s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb