Crossing the Ecuator to Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Guayaquil
July 5th 2007
Published: July 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So we left Panama heading south towards the equator. Our first day back at sea was so exciting, not because we were moving again, but because it was Neptune Day. For those who don’t know what this day is I will explain. Neptune Day is the day that the ship crosses the equator. It is a big deal to sailing vessels and to the people who have never crossed the line before. First timers are called pollywogs, I think. At around 5pm on July 3rd the celebrations began. The crew started running through the halls banging on pans and singing. Soon after there was a parade of our professors dressed up as pirates or sea gods that led us all to the pool deck. There Dean Dave explained that we had to prove to the god Neptune (aka Dean Birkoff) that we are worthy enough to cross the equator. This process involves having fish guts poured on you ( I think it was just sea water), jumping in the pool, kissing Neptune’s ring, and then shaving your head! I was a bit sad because I wasn’t able to do the first part. I donated my hair, so it couldn’t be wet, but I did shave my head. I was the first girl to shave her head and I have never had some many cameras flashing around me. It was crazy. And so I am practically bald now. I have a lovely buzz cut, think Natalie Portman in V for Vendetta. I love it, but it did make my trip to Ecuador a little bit more interesting.

We arrived in Guayaquil, Ecuador on Thursday (July 5th). Guayaquil is the largest city in Ecuador and sits on a river. Even though it is the largest city I do not think they see many tourists. The first morning a group of us took the shuttle from the dock to downtown so that we could look around. Immediately I noticed how much I was being stared at. To begin with our group stood out because with the 4 of us I was the only brunette. And to add to this I now have no hair. I had expected some looks, but not complete open stares. Thankfully the people of Ecuador are incredibly friendly. I came to realize that the men seemed to like my hair cut and the women were confused but found it amusing. When I tried to explain that my hair had been to my waist and that I had donated it they only looked more confused. “Why did you have to cut it so short though?” they would ask. In the end they always gave me a big smile. One girl Rosy, a university student, said she wished she could do the same one day. Guayaquil may not be the prettiest city, but the people were some of the friendliest I have ever met.

So the first day I took a tour of the city. I thought it was an amazing city orientation, which is saying something, since most are pretty boring. This one was good though. Our guide took us to the Iguana Park. In the middle of the city there is a little park. It is very pretty, but what makes it unique is that it is full of iguanas that live there and are free to walk around wherever they want. You can get so close to them, you could probably touch them if you really wanted to. I have never seen so many in one place. After touring the city we were taken to a small zoo to see some animals that are common to the country. I think it was a very interesting little park.

After the City Orientation we went to the Universidad Espiritu Santo. There we were supposed to meet the students and talk with them, but it didn’t really happen. The school spent a little too much time promoting itself, and putting on a show for us, but we just wanted to talk with the students. And as obnoxious as it sounds we were all starving. We had been told there would be dinner for us there, so no one ate before. Instead we had fried plantains. It was a total bust, and expensive too. When we did meet the students though it was awesome. It is just sad we weren’t able to talk to them longer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.6kb