Let the travelling begin


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Guayaquil
March 3rd 2007
Published: March 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

MantaMantaManta

Bringing in the catch.
Little more than 24 hrs after arriving back in Quito, I set off for the coast, on the night bus to Manta. A fairly easy journey, although the man next to me (Jose, a middle aged lawer) snored most of the way. Arrived in Manta around 8am, left my bag at the bus company´s office and packed in a visit to the archaeological museum, 2 beaches, the fish market, a slightly dodgy area of town that I accidentally wandered into, and a delicious $1.50 lunch before collecting my bag (which thankfully was still there) and heading for Puerto Lopez in the afternoon.

Treated myself to a nice room (with sea view balcony and hammock) in a nice hotel (with quiet swimming pool), rather than a budget hostal, so had a couple of days to really relax at the coast. As well as Puerto Lopez, visited Montañita and Salinas - but I think of the three Puerto Lopez was a better place to relax. Even so, there was little letup from the sales pitches of taxi drivers, food sellers and jewelry sellers, all wanting a sale. And of course little escape from the young ecuadorian men (practically young enough to
Puerto LopezPuerto LopezPuerto Lopez

Puerto Lopez - sunset
be my sons) trying to "chat up the gringa".

From Salinas (a beachside resort somewhat reminiscant of the Spanish costas, with its highrise apartment blocks), I took an early evening bus to Guyaquil. Rejecting the offer of a bed in the "nice house" of Antonio, the middle aged and slightly large gentleman next to me on the bus, I headed through the rain to catch a taxi to my hostal. Thanks to the help of Franklin, a friendly traffic cop, I found one quickly and cheaply and arrived safely at my hostal. The hostal is much more basic than my hotel in Puerto Lopez, but is comfortable and a base for a whistlestop tour of Guyaquil.

Have spent today walking round the main sights with Carey and Colleen, a very nice couple from Canada. My impression is that Guyaquil has done more to "create" areas for the tourists than Quito, with a slick and clean walkway up the side of the river and a well laid out path up a hill at the top end of the walkway, from which you can view most of Guyaquil. This may be slick and pretty but some of the scenes from
GuayaquilGuayaquilGuayaquil

With iguana in parque seminario
there are less so - you can see very poorly built shacks on the other hillsides, where the people clearly still live in poverty. Same poverty as everywhere else, just pushed slightly out of view of the tourists.

Now off to prepare for my morning flight to Galapagos. Hopefully lots more news when I get back. Bye for now. E xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Puerto LopezPuerto Lopez
Puerto Lopez

Rush hour in Puerto Lopez
Puerto LopezPuerto Lopez
Puerto Lopez

Morning fish market
Puerto LopezPuerto Lopez
Puerto Lopez

Morning fish market
Puerto LopezPuerto Lopez
Puerto Lopez

Morning fish market
SalinasSalinas
Salinas

Salinas - "cleaner" than any other resort I've seen, but not my cup of tea
GuyaquilGuyaquil
Guyaquil

View from the lighthouse on the top of Cerro Santa Ana
GuyaquilGuyaquil
Guyaquil

View from El Malecon towards Cerro Santa Ana


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb