A short story about Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Short for two reasons:

a) We only stayed three days, swiftly despatching the (rather twisty) 700 or so miles from the Colombian border to the Peruvian border.

b) The people. They're tiny. Even smaller than the Guatemalans.

Not much else to report, except we crossed the equator, so I suppose in some sort of strange way, we've reached the half way mark, again.

Also, temporarily suspending twenty years of vegetarianism, I ate a mouthful of Guinea Pig. Frankly, it's not tempted me back to full time meat-eating.

Next stop, Peru.

Adios!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The EquatorThe Equator
The Equator

An excellent excuse to charge idiot gringos a dollar to stand next to a large pole.
Face to face with a guinea pigFace to face with a guinea pig
Face to face with a guinea pig

Vegetarian or not - you don't get to eat a cute household pet every day of the week.
The Cathedral, CuencaThe Cathedral, Cuenca
The Cathedral, Cuenca

Those crayzee Spaniards have been in town again, hammering religion into the locals.
Sunday bestSunday best
Sunday best

All decked out in their finest togs.
These two have always fancied a GS...These two have always fancied a GS...
These two have always fancied a GS...

... but he's worried that he might have trouble getting his feet on the floor.
More funny shaped mountainsMore funny shaped mountains
More funny shaped mountains

Yep, there's plenty of 'em.


13th October 2009

From beyond the grave...
You "temporarily suspend" 20 years of vegetarianism - for guinea pig??!! I assume that no cuter or more defenceless small mammals were available? I look forward to the feast upon your return, when we shall dine on roast swan stuffed with baby bush babies. (P.S. This was probably my favourite blog to date, just for the guinea pig. Also, are the locals so tiny they ride around on the guinea pigs in teensy-weensy saddles?)
13th October 2009

What the *@#!
I'm shocked. Surely even Christine would draw the line at roasted guinea pig?! I'm not sure there's anything left to say. Enjoy Peru!
13th October 2009

Short Shrift for Ecuador!
I've been looking at a couple of Ecuadorians to shore up my central defence at Loftus Road. Won't bother now you say they're all short-arses. No Ecuadorians amongst your readers I take it?! Guinea pig looked cooked to perfection - I presume Christine finished yours for you! Happy travels, amigos x
13th October 2009

Peruvian Delicacy
I can't believe you tried it... when I saw guinea pig for the first time flat on a plate I nearly threw up!!! And you're a fully fledged veggie! Next time for the others please take a photo of arriving on the plate. I was trying to explain to Rich that it looked like something run over on the road - almost cartoon-like. I'm sure the guinea pig felt the same!!! Enjoy Peru... Hope you manage to keep you head as you get to the top - puno! Alison

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb