Cuenca


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
October 8th 2009
Published: November 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So my friends Michelle, Josafine, Lauren and I went to Cuenca this weekend for the three day weekend. Michelle invited me. I knew Lauren before the trip cause we have a class together but I met Josafine on the bus ride. I missed class Thursday because we left Wednesday night. The trip takes 10 hours!! That was the most uncomfortable bus ride I has ever taken in my life. By the time we got to Cuenca it was around 9 and my back was killing me and all I wanted to do was sleep. I felt like I couldn’t get my bearings. We found something to eat and our hostile and went to sleep. We woke up around 2 and started exploring. First went to a couple churches. I have some pictures but the lighting was awful and they aren’t very good. Then we found the market…yay!!!...I brought earrings, earrings, and more earrings. I definitely think that the thing I buy the most of is going to be earrings. What else did I buy? Oh, I brought a little elephant key chain. Elephants are a sign of luck in Ecuador so I have super happy about this purchase. And I can’t
KIDS!!!KIDS!!!KIDS!!!

This has got to be one of the best photos I have taken since I have been in Ecuador...
forget to tell you guys about my Panama hat. Did you guys now that Panama hats are not really from Panama? They are from Ecuador. People assumed they are from Panama because when passing through the Panama Canal they saw the workers wearing them. We went to this factory that has been there for hundred years. It is a family owned business that exports the hats across the world. They opened up the factory about 7 years ago as a museum to the public and as a store. I paid $20 dollars for an authentic custom made Panama Hat.
There isn’t that much to do in Cuenca. At night I felt myself missing the night life of Quito. The things that there was plenty of was food. We had really good food while we were there. We went to this Arabic restaurant and I tried hukkah for the first time. There is a lot of Arabic influence in Latin America because there was almost 700 years of Arabic rule. I will say that it was pretty weird seeing Palestinians that spoke Spanish. On the last night we were there we went to this amazing restaurant. I had no idea what it was called, but the food was awesome and relatively cheap.
During the day of the same day we had gone Inga Pirca. These are ancient ruins. How amazing!!! The best part of the whole trip was that when we went to pay the get inside, I paid the national fee. Everybody here usually assumed that I am Ecuadorian or from some other Latin American country so my friends were asking me to go and buy all the tickets. I wasn’t paying too much attention and I only bought mine. I paid two dollars to get in and my friends paid $6. The ruins were beautiful. The history behind all of it amazed me. We left the next day. I wasn’t as restless on the bus ride back because I was able to look out the window. I have learned quickly since being her e that I do not like traveling through the mountains on a bus. I was so scared. Upon arriving in Quito, I realized that it was the first time that I really felt like I was going home, and it was a good feeling.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Panama HatsPanama Hats
Panama Hats

that's Josafine and I with our awesome Panama Hats....the one i have on is the one i actually bought...Josafine bought a different one...
view from the topview from the top
view from the top

this is the view from the factory...
hostle viewhostle view
hostle view

this is the view from the hostle...
Rock of the IncaRock of the Inca
Rock of the Inca

If you look closely, you can see the face of the Inca


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb