So who wants to learn English??


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
October 3rd 2009
Published: October 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I totally forgot to tell you guys that I have been teaching English for the past two weeks. I joined a program called Ingles Para Todos where university students teach English to the employees. I’m not going to lie; it is a lot of pressure. Teaching is not just talking. You actually have to make sure that the students understand. So give your teachers a break, okay? I got the worst shift ever - Saturday mornings at eight. I don’t know if I have already mentioned this in a previous entry, but I have to take two buses to the university and it takes about an hour in total. That means I have to leave the house by seven. Blah. No going out on Fridays for me. Another problem is that most students travel on the weekends. I can’t. Well, I can but I can’t be spontaneous about it. Everything has to be planned before hand so that I can tell my students that there is no class. I can only miss four classes so even the trips that I have to plan in advance have to be planned in advance.
By teaching this class I am learning so
ja ja ja...ja ja ja...ja ja ja...

i've always thought this to be true...
much Spanish. Not that I am not learning Spanish outside of the classroom, but when you have to teach something to someone that only speaks Spanish you kind of need to know how to say certain things. It forces me to learn and retain more. The students ask me random questions and how to say different things and I return the favor by asking them random questions and words as well. It works out pretty nicely in my opinion.
I have a bit of an advantage over the other teachers. I want to be a Spanish grammar professor so I know Spanish grammar pretty well. And having to learn Spanish forced me to learn English so that I would have something to which I could relate the material. I say all of this only to tell you guys that it is a lot easier to teach a language when you know the grammar of not only the language you are teaching but also to grammar of the spoken language. Good practice for student teaching in grad school. I wish there was someplace where I could get my certification to teach English as a second language. It would be a useful skill.
That’s all for now. Next week’s entry should be fun since we have vacation and I’m going out of town.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb