Baños to Cuenca - World Heritage Site


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
April 16th 2009
Published: April 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dead SnakeDead SnakeDead Snake

I came across this snake whilst cycling on the outskirts of Banos. It looked as though it had recently been run over by a vehicle.
Tuesday 14.04.09
After an early at one of the local cafes I hired a bike and went to the thermal baths and the waterfall beside it. I then crossed town to go across the emergency evacuation bridge (recently built) and travel a little way up the mountain; it soon became too steep to cycle so only walked a little way before turning back. I came across a snake in the middle of the road - couldn't identify it but it had recently being killed, probably run over by a vehicle (see photo). 'Left the bike back and checked out of the hotel. 'Caught a bus to Riobamba where I changed for one to Cuenca. The journey seemed interminably long, more so because the bus made so many stops letting off and picking up passengers. The journey took over eight hours. By the time we got to Cuenca the tourist office was closed so I got a taxi to the Alli Tiana Hotel in the centre of the city, just off San Francesco Plaza - a good hotel in a great position at a reasonable rate!The price also included breakfast. The internet cafe next door was convenient but I was so tired
View from My Window View from My Window View from My Window

One of the many churches surrounding San Francesco Square; this one is being renovated. They take a great pride in the maintenance and upkeep of their churches.This shot was taken from my bedroom window in Cuenca.
I had an early night.

Wednesday 15.04.09
As my flight back to Uk is from Guayaquil tomorrow, my plan was to book a flight for tomorrow afternoon from here to Guayaquil to make my connection. I went to the Tame Airline office the far side of the city but found that all their flights were fully booked; I decided then to go directly to the airport and try other airlines. Same result - all flights fully booked. I had no option at this stage but try to book a bus journey, so off I went to the bus terminal. I eventually managed to buy a ticket for the 11:30 schedule from Cuenca arriving at Guayaquil at 4:00pm. This, in theory, will give me an hour to get a taxi from the terminal to the airport to check in; however, knowing Ecuadorian public transport, it is going to be tight! It rained all day today; I was talking to one of the shopkeepers who said they have a lot of rain at this time of year, right up to May when it eases and the temperature slightly rises up to about 14-16 degrees centigrade (it's 12 at the moment, cold
The Flower Market The Flower Market The Flower Market

Just a block away from the hotel was the flower market - fantastic displays using every kind of flower from the simple rose to birds of paradise. Note the cobbled street; Cuenca is reputed for them.
for so close to the equator!)
The market in San Francesco Square sold a huge variety of goods - from authentic indigenous ponchos & dresses to European clothing, from firearms to birds eggs, from witchcraft medicines to leatherwear.. Quite a few of the vendors were dressed in traditional dress, complete with hats (covered with plastic because of the rain). Just a block away there was a flower market where each stall seemed to be outdoing the next with fantastic, meticulously prepared colourful sprays of a wide range of flowers.
I walked down to the river (Rio Tomebamba) and along the river bank; however it was very wet along the embankment - glad to have my umbrella with me. I could imagine it would be beautiful along her when the sun is out. I strolled along to an Inca archeological site which I could only view from nearby as it was closed, probably because of the rain. 'Spent the rest of the day browsing around the churches (there are lots of them here) and squares, before getting a meal at one of the many restaurants off San Francesco square.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Embankment of Rio Tomebamba Embankment of Rio Tomebamba
Embankment of Rio Tomebamba

It´s hard to believe that this river is in the centre of a city of nearly .5 million people (third largest city in Ecuador). I walked along the embankment towards the Inca archeological site; it was a dull wet afternoon. I imagine it's lovely here on a hot sunny day.
Inca Archeological Site Inca Archeological Site
Inca Archeological Site

Although the site wasn´t open I could see around it from outside.
Market  TraderMarket  Trader
Market Trader

This vendor in her traditional dress was using a break in the rain to carry some more goods to her stall.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb