The Volcano Tungurahua


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
February 11th 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´ve had a couple of questions about my safety around the active volcano, Tungurahua, here in Ecuador. Tungurahua is located a couple hundred kilometers north of where I am staying. So far, I have seen no indication of it; no ash has fallen locally. I met some travellers who saw it at night, and said it was spectacular. The government is evacuating people close to the volcano, and others are on a very short evacuation warning (8 minute notice I heard). This is causing many problems to the evacuees, many of whom are subsistence farmers. From what I have been told, there is little in the way of social safety nets here. My class schedule here has been changed to afternoons this week as they accomodate my short week given my departure to the Galapagos on Thursday morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb