The jungle


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North
November 7th 2008
Published: November 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I have bee a while updating my blog, i have had a very busy few weeks!

The jungle now feels ages ago but it was so much fun.

I had such a brilliant birthday, we spent most of the day travelling down some very very bumpy roads and then arrived in the jungle at about 5.30 in the evening. We had a bit of a party on the bus, we got ot the big speakers and blew up balloons so everyone was on a bit of a high. Everyone got streight into the party mood and started drinking as soon as we had arrived and dumped our bags. The guys kept buying me drinks and by dinner time i was a little worse for wear. I made everyone drink a tsp of hot chili sauce and there was also a food fight - but i dont remember that unfortunatly. There was lots of dancing, crowd surfing and beer spraying that night. It was definatly a good night had by all and acted as a good icebreaker. I was definatly a birthday to remember! I was also given a cake by the tour guides and a birthday boomerang from the ausi guys.

The following day (5th) began and ended histerically, initially the ausi guys woke up and got dressed up in tarzan atire (they then accosted me and dressed me in leaves too). Luke decided to get the resident boa constrictor out of its cage which I had round my shoulders for a brief photo and gave it back promply. They kept it out at breakfast time and put it on the table and then it bit Ty on the hand and there was blood everywhere. Fortunatly it wasnt posonous so he lived to tell the tale. Following that we went for a 4 hour jungle walk. It took about 1.5 hours to get there rather than half an hour as the boys kept jumping in the river. On arriving there our gude took us through the jungle and began by showing us a tarantula. I had a panic attack - i started crying and couldnt breath properly. I did feel a tad stupid and everyone decided to just laugh at me!! There lots of vines to swing on and Shane (now named tarzan) grabbed on, started making the tarzan noise which turned into a scream as half of the canopy came down on top of him. Everyone ran in different directions to get awsay and when we turned round he was covered in vines. We were all unable to help him as we were laughing so much. The walk ended with a 30 min trek though a tributary back to the boat. Following that we went to a zoo for rescued animals and saw mo nkeys etc and went on to a museum where we were shown traps and pickled animals.

we also visted a local town and saw a lady making traditional clay pots and i had my face painted by a sharman. It was apparently a traditional dance motif and was red triangles, circles and lines. We missed out on seeing a wood carver as he had gone so instead went and climbed a broken building and jumped off into the river and floated back down to the boat. In the afternoon we went and build as farf made of balsa wood and floated down stream. I was pused in a and decided to just let the current take me, i was in the water for about 45 mins and got very cold. The boat came and picked me up so i could warm up.

The jungle was amazing and I wished we could have had longer.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb