Quito in Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
July 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Working for the Secret Garden Hostel in Quito Ecuador

So 2 days on the bus from lima in Peru a short stop in Guayaqui and I had arrived in Quito capital of Ecuador to start my job at the Secret Garden Hostel in which I had applied for 3 months prior in Brazil, In return for me working 40 hours a week I would get accommodation, food, unlimited drink and Spanish lessons the job was simple, checking people in and out, serving drinks and helping guests with information and related problems.

After about a week the current team of volunteers left and a new group arrived and with that team ended up staying together for the next 6 weeks, I had a great time working and meeting so many funny and interesting people, the work was devised into either morning or evening shifts so you either had to serve breakfast in the morning or dinner in the evening, the food that was made was excellent so I never needed to eat out, breakfast was all you can eat with eggs, bread, natural juices, fruit salad and cerials, and dinner was different every night, i remember the sushi, pizza, BBQ dishes being my favourites and always there was 3 courses, but for the backpackers it was expensive compared to eating in a local restaurant.

For me of course i struggled to make it for a 7am start but once I was there on the 5 floor balcony where the reception, restaurant and Spanish classes were held, it was beautiful looking over at the view of the whole of the old town at that time so quiet and fresh, then the work started with checking out of guests, lots of questions the most common can I put my bags in storage which was 2 floors downstairs there was 5 flights of stairs which when you had to show meet guests and show them to there rooms it was pretty tiring. We had some great nights out with us the volunteers taking out guests to the popular mariscal area of Quito.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb