My last weeks in Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
September 13th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola Amigos,

A lot has happened since I last updated my blog....I celebrated my birthday (...Im 25 now), I visited my host mother´s little hometown called el Chontal in the jungle, I visited a natural hot spring in a city called Baños where we toured 6 waterfalls on bicycles, and on our way to the beautiful city of Mindo (another city in the jungle) my friend got robbed on the bus, I accused the robber and made him give my friend her wallet back while another guy but him in a headlock and everyone on the bus helped us hand him over to the cops. On this same trip we missed our stop for Mindo by 40 min. and had to practically hitch a ride back in a little black pickup truck with some stranger whose windshield wipers were super squeeky.... After that things started to simmer down and I did some ziplinning...or canopying as they call it here. Also I visited the middle of the world...the actual Equator Line. In my pics you´ll be able to see some cool experiements that they do on the line. For example you can balance an egg on a nail, you can see that the water flows in different directions on either side of the line and some other cool tricks.
Okay don´t want to bore you anymore...look at my pics and write to me!

Mucho ha pasado desde que les escribi....celebre mi cumple años (ya tengo 25), visite el pueblito de Chontal la ciudad donde vivio mi madre equatoriana, visite la ciudad de Baños donde hay pisinas naturalmente calientes. Aquí anduvimos en bicicleta por una ruta de 6 cascadas., tambien visite una ciudad llamada Mindo en la selva, pero en camino a Mindo le robaron a mi amiga y yo acuse al ratero mientras otro chico lo aorcaba con su brazo. Finalmente el ratero tiró la cartera de mi amiga y todos los del autobus donde ibamos nos ayudaron a entregarlo (el ratero) a la policia, despues de esto en camino a Mindo, se nos paso la parada por 40 minutos. Tuvimos que pedir ride a un señor en una camionetita....y todo lo que se escuchaba todo el camino eran las parabrisas....Luego ya llegamos y lo demas fue tan divertido. Hice zip lining o canopy es una activida donde vas colgando varios metros del piso, sostenida por un tipo de columpio y vas super rapido de un lado a otro de la selva. También visite la mitad del mundo donde hacen muchos experimentos como balancear un huevo en un clavo, y puedes ver como el agua gira en diferentes direcciones dependiendo de que lado de la linea estas. Es tan interesante.

Bueno ya no los aburro mejor vean mis fotos y escriban me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb