1st week in Quito/Primer semana en Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 12th 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My first week in Quito has been chilly believe it or not. I know I'm in the middle of the earth and it’s windy and cold at night, crazy hum? I am getting used to this since I am used to 100 degree weather from Funky Town Fort Worth, Texas. I am currently living with a host family, a lady named Jet from Lake Whitney, Texas and a girl named Francisca from Germany.

I have my own room and restroom as you can see in the pictures. The family is really nice and is really different from my family in Madrid, España. I get to pick my own shoes to wear and get to go to bed without telling anyone to pull my bed down from the wall for me. I have a host brother named Mateo who likes to watch the same movie over and over. He is usually my short excursion partner. I also have two host sisters Diana and Mercedes who I don't see too often. Fito is my host dog who joins me on my excursions some times too. We are not on the best terms right now since he peed on my close after I washed them. Rosa is my host mom who owns Vida Verde School the school where I am currently taking classes. The school donates 10% of all of its earnings to ecological reserves. It's a very neat school that is growing and looking for English teacher for a year if you are interested email me or check out her website.

Some of the pictures you will see are from Old Town Quito where I visited the Palacio del Gobierno, where the president lives in Quito. This president Rafael Correa has chosen not to live there. He is also one of the first presidents that has opened the palace up to the public, has left his presidential stole for other presidents to use, and his wife is from Belgium and has decided not to be named first lady since she feels she does not know enough about Ecuador to adequately represent the country.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



14th August 2008

me too
Wow, my wife and I just got back from there and LOVED it. We were well taken care of. I did get elevation sickness though. Drinking tea helped. Everyone treated us so nicely. How did you get information about Ecuador before you left, on where to go? My wife booked us with Wildlife Vacation and they took care of everything! We didn't have to worry at all, just enojed our vacation time together. If you are interested in going again you should check out www.wildlife-vacation.com. I would HIGHLY

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb