Spanish class and Otovolo


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
March 31st 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

Still in Quito and it´s raining! However we spent the weekend at a really nice town called Otovolo, where we stayed in the cutest little hostel (better than any hostel I´ve been to in England). It was run by some English people so the food was very international, such as spag bol and crumble, but it was nice to get used to being here slowly. There were hammocks, our own little house full of bunk beds for the girls and hammocks swinging outside. The picture shows just how lovely it was.

On Saturday we rode into town in cattle wagons which was very interesting as we thrown around due to the numurous pot holes in the road. We then spent the day in the market, and I went a little overboard with the shopping, due to restaining myself for 6 months whilst I saved up. Everything was amazing cheap though, and I practiced my non existant spanish trying to barter. Everyone got a pair of these amazing colourful stripey pj bottoms which we wear around the hostel in the evenings.

We then went to a 'traditional' Ecudorian restaurant for lunch, which was interesting to say the least. The soup tasted ok but had some strange grisly bits floating in it, which I avoided and later found out was cow´s foot. They seem to have a lot of cows here, and just herd them about in the roads, whilst the crazy drivers attempt to avoid hitting them.

Yesterday (Sunday) we went to a lake, (also see pictures) where we did a short walk up a hill. This where I first really noticed the altitude though. After a few steps uphill, my heart was going so fast that I felt like I was on a treadmill and couldn´t breathe. At one point I got a bit panicky because my heart rate would regulate and I was starting to go light headed. We had loads of breaks though and as soon as I started talking and not concentrating on my heart, it seemed to go down and I felt loads better. Even climbing my bunk bed or the stairs though and I feel my heart rate go up.

We then got back to Quito last night to chill out a bit before we started our spanish lessons this morning. This was really intense because they´re all one on one and everyone has their own teacher. I felt that I learnt a lot very fast though and my teacher is lovely, although they speak absolutely no english to you at all in the lesson, occasionally translating one word if they know it at all. We did play games as well though as a big group so it wasn´t too full on.

I´m now in an Internet cafe in 'Gringoland' (I love this name) which where all the shops and bars are in the city and we´re going to come out here for some drinks tonight. Everything is just amazingly cheap, this internet session is costing me 50 cents (25p) for as long as I want. On the flip side you see poverty everywhere, especially when we were driving out of the city for the weekend and saw all the slums.

Having an amazing time and am already a little bit sunburnt, going brown though.

lots of love xxxx

p.s sorry camera isnt connecting with the computer so now pics at the moment (BUT I HAVE TAKEN LOTS) for all the sceptics hee hee

Advertisement



3rd April 2008

exciting!
It's so exciting hearing about everything! :) you paint a v good picture. sounds like you're seeing really cool stuff and hope you're having the best time ever. i await fantastic pictures with baited breath. all my love!!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
3rd April 2008

colourful stripey pjs
I would like to see a picture of you all in your stripeys if you can get to download pictures. Good to hear what you have been up to. loads of love mum
9th April 2008

Miss you!
Oh my logie - glad your well and safe and all that; the images im getting of you slumped on a hill panting for dear life dont fill me with confidence but im sure you'll cope - Becci is turning into Rambo - treking through jungles and all this - just please dont kill anyone... Miss you loads! x x x x

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb