Lazy Day in Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 3rd 2008
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today was a semi lazy day. This morning Laura left the hostel to meet her boyfriend at the airport. I felt kind of bad for Megan bc that meant she would be traveling alone for the next few months. Everyone that I have met so far has or will be traveling for at least 6 months which makes my trip look like a hot second. Most have started down in Argentina and are slowly working their way up towards Columbia, Mexico or whereever.
Anyway, after we said goodbye to Laura, Megan and I took a walk to Centro Cultural Itchimbia which was a killer walk up and behind our hostel. I´m still feeling the altitude sickness everytime I go up more than a few stairs. The walk to the Cultural Center took us about an extra 15 min. due to stopping every 2 seconds to catch our breath. Once we got there though the view over the valley which Quito sits in was great. I left my camera at the hostel bc I actually didn´t expect to see much. In the Cultural Center they had a gallery of everything that went on during New Years eve. Craziness! All the people make stuffed dummies that represent themselves and dress them in their clothing then burn them in the streets. It is suppose to represent starting the new year fress and ridding themselves of things they are unhappy about. Anyway now I know why I saw ashes and half burned clothes on my first day in the city. After the gallery we walked around the park which gave a 360 degree view of all of Quito. And once again I didn´t have a camera. So around lunch time we made way back to the hostel and had lunch at a cafe and ordered the lunch special not knowing what it was. Turned out to be soup, chicken and rice, fried banana, pineapple and lemonade for only $1.50. Took a nap soon after that and then Megan went into the New Town to meet a friend from HS that she ran into a few day before. Pretty random running into someone down here. Alittle after I took the bus into the New Town also to try and book 3 days of scuba diving after my Galapagos boat tour is over. The main dive shop, Scuba Iguana, was booked of course so now I´m waiting to hear back from several others. Anyway, so far the people are very friendly and I´m not worried at all about being alone. Actually this is the first time I have been without someone from the hostel, but no worries.
Tomorrow morning I will be leaving for the Galapagos so I will not be able to write until Jan. 12. Talk to you all soon...Rob

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb