Quito equals altitude sickness...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 3rd 2008
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone...So today is my second day in Quito and everything is great so far(except the headaches after climbing more than 3 stairs). The flights here went suprisingly fast do to no sleep the night before leaving. I am staying at a nice place called Hostel Revolution which is located in the middle of the Old Town and New Town. There is a bus stop about 100 ft. away which is very nice. The first day i arrived everyone was hungover from New Years eve so we all bummed around and watched dvds all night. So far I have met two girls from Oregon, one from N Carolina, two guys from Denmark and one from the UK. Today the two girls from Oregon, Megan and Laurie(both fluent in spanish which is a bonus), and I went into the Old Town and went to several different cathedrals and museums. The best so far being the Bascilica del Voto Nacional. The stained glass and size was amazing, but best of all being that we were able to climb all the way up into the bell tower which gives an amazing view of all of Quito. The Old Town is very nice with it´s narrow streets, colonial architecture and busy plazas. Later in the day we went into the New Town which is also called Gringo Land. We didn´t see much but I did get to pick up my tickets to the Galapagos which I´m really pumped about. I booked an 8 day tour on the Merak which is a sailboat holding up to 8 passengers. I used the tour company Happy Gringo which so far I would recommend to anyone. After that we came back to the hostel and took naps before going back to the New Town for dinner at a Mexican place. So thats about it so far...Hopefully I will be able to write tomorrow but if not I will when I get back from my boat tour.

PS- The computer is painfully slow when uploading pictures so hopefully tomorrow I will be able to get to an internet cafe to do so.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb