A bad day


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
October 14th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was a very black day for me: in the morning I discovered that somebody had stolen all my money, i.e. several 100 Dollars from my hotel room in Hostal La Galeria. In the afternoon my new SLR was stolen.

The first basically must have been one of the hotel staff. The second case happened the following way: I was in a sandwich shop, bought a sandwich and wanted to pay when a guy who was sitting at one of the tables asked me whether the key on the floor was mine. Obviously I looked, with my bag open. In that moment somebody else who was in the shop and who was collaborating with the guy, must have taken the camera. I realized only some minutes later that the camera was missing, but then these people had already left. It may even have been the lady who is running the shop.

At this moment I donĀ“t know what to do, I may even cancel the whole project. I am not feeling safe at all any more. I will take a couple of days to think about it, and then take a decision.

Advertisement



8th June 2008

I know the feeling
Thanks for the reminder. First when in such locations, I always carry all major money and docs in a secure place close to my jewels. 2nd: All valued gear is always kept in front of my chest, one way or another. Also, this posture sends messages to thieves that I am on the alert. T

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0968s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb