Volcanoe Avenue


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 15th 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have decided that there are definitely no rules to the road out here. I am pleased to say that I have just survived the taxi Journey from hell just so that I can add an entry to this blog!!! There are no road markings, no give way signs and definitely no speed limit... I hope your all happy!(rant over!)

Hola every body

Oh , Ive had quite a quiet week really, you know... just climbed the local volcanoe, came face to face with an armed gunman demanding money ( well nearly , Ill explain in a minute), visisted the local farmers market , oh and hiked through the jungle! All in a weeks work!

Ok, I have been quite busy, hence the delay in making a blog entry. My new friends and I started the week with a decision to venture up the local vocanoe...The teleferico is a cable car that takes you from 2950 meters up to 4050 meters towards the summit of Cruz Loma. Situated in Volcanoe Avenue! The views over Quito were amazing but were about to get better as once we left the cable car we embarked upon a 2 hour treck to the mountains summit. I had been warned about how thin the air was up there but I really think my lungs were put to the test. I was however determined not to be the one that asked the group to turn arround and go back. It was a very hard slog into the very cold cloads.
Thankfully, on this particular day a local psycopath decided to venture up the mountain with a machete and a gun to demand money off people. We met an American chap on his way back down who had just been held up for his money. This was enough reason for us to turn back (big sigh of relief.. I know I should have stuck with the gym!) As you can see, I wasnt quite the one to be held up but the story was good! I felt quite proud of myself for getting as far as I did, but couldnt wait to hit the pub at the bottom!

What better after a hike up a volcanoe than a night on the town. On Wednesday night we once again headed for the legendary Ladies night!!! Dispite being a OK club with OK music it is a great place for meeting other travellers, as everyone seems to head to the same place. Needless to say things were not looking good for my 7am start on Thursday.









Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



28th August 2007

Enjoying your stories
Hi Glad you are still enjoy self, you obviously haven't taken those wonderful walking shoes you brought a few months ago, perhaps you couldn't fit them in the backpack. So its true you can get mugged anywhere in the world, its not just Birmingham. we miss you loads we miss you stories in the office, still laught about your pj's and the car episode. Take care and keep up with the entries, I can tell in the office it goes all quiet they are all obviously reading your next entry Kathy

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb