One week down!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 12th 2007
Published: August 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yeeahhhhhh Hi everyone, apologies for the delay in getting this blog out to you. I thought it might be best to find my feet first and then I´ll have some interesting things to tell you.

Well my first week in Quito has come to an end. I can´t really say its gone quickly as its been hard work adjusting to the different culture and feeling pretty homesick to be honest. I think I have now distinguised the major perils I must keep my eyes open for. They are as follows in the order of "most likely to kill you":-

1) The shower of death!!!!!
I face this peril every morning and figure if I can survive the shower I will make it through the rest of the day just fine! As fun as it it to mix electricity with water I do miss the joys of hot water from the tank. It might be worth it if the shower was regularly hot but, hopping in and out of the water for 5 mins every morning constitues my daily excercise.

2) The buses!!!!
Absolutley crazy...Im going to include drivers in general in this category. There are no "give way" road markings and a toot of the horn appears to be the normal way to claim your space on the road...come to think of it I might fit in quite well here with my little saxo!

3) The altitude.
No joke! I feel like a 90 year old most of the time, this makes it easier to risk the taxi/bus journey anywear as my lungs just aren´t built for no air at all!!!

4) The muggers, attackers, theives and other unpleasantries. But I´m from Birmingham so not much new here...just a regular night out for me! Although the theives do have some impressive tricks up thier sleaves. There are fake police, mustard smearers and pick pockets galor, although I have not experienced these first hand yet!

I think, if you are awear of these four key issues you will have no problems in equador!

My first week has been a busy one. I have had Spanish lessons from 8:30 am to 12:30 pm every day and I am getting a little better...enough to direct taxi drivers, buy clothes and most importantly order beers!

We had a nice afternoon trip to Quito old town and climbed to the top of the Bascillica (oldest building and national treasure) - quite odd really that is full of electrical shops and two massive plastic clock faces. The climb to the top was a tough one especially with the altitude , but we made it to the highest tower for some great views. The pictures don´t do it justice!!!
The old town is very busy and gives a much better example of Traditional Quito.

Mid week we had our first ever night out!!!! I arrive in the house with two other people and we are all "newbies" together. This was our induction to the night life by the regulars. Sadly alot of people who were here when we arrived have left this week so we are going to have to fly the flag for the new people who arrive from now onwards.
Any way ..Wednesday night is the phenomenom that is "ladies night" Basically Girls get in anywhere before 10 for free and get free drinks. Then at 10 they let the lads in!!!! (You´ve got to love human nature, right?) It was a good night and I met lots of nice people at least I think I did! Needless to say the Spanish lesson did not go so well on Thursday!

We had our first weekend trip yesterday to Otovalo. Which has the largest market in Equador. We stayed over Friday in preparation for the big shop!!! Satuday morning was amazing its the perfect market , full of traditional wears and food. I didn´t buy too much as I intend to head back soon. Everything is shockingly cheap ....
Taxis average about $1.50 anywear and clothes etc are about $10 but you can hagle everything! I WANT EVERYTHING!!!!! A dinner will cost you about $3 in a nice restaurant...It doesn´t take long before you start "penny pinching" and saying "$5 , thats way too expensive!!!" As most of you know being tight comes naturally to me!!!!

I´ll sign off now and try to work out how to upload pics.
Speak to you soon
Love Sinead



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

In the market - Otovalo 3In the market - Otovalo 3
In the market - Otovalo 3

This little girl was a proper sales women .... had me in her hand!


12th August 2007

Missin you
Looks like fun out there. Missin you lots and i'm struggling without my regular tea and a cheese sandwich. The weight is just falling of me. My life is pretty much the same apart from being back at work. i finally done the deed with the little blonde one (shame on me), but it was just a matter of time. Sent of my deposit for the canada trip so lookin forward to that. Thats all for know babe. Love you
12th October 2007

Donations
Hi Sinead several people have been asking if they could send donations for the children in the orphange (not you Sinead I remeber what you are like at Christmas time with all those presents) Do you think this is something we could arrange, do you have a box number or even better I could drop the stuff off (if only) Let me know what you thing Kathy

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb