No de Estados Unitos, Soy de Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
March 16th 2015
Published: March 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As I wrap up the weekend, I decide to head to La Basilica del Vito Nacional in Quito. This was a nice break from studying and a chance to put some of my Spanish to the test...it's getting better. I saw so many things this weekend; "La Casa de Presidente", "La Plaza Grande", "La Basilica Presidente" and a few cafes for some espresso and food. I'm realizing now that Quito is a very noisy city with pockets of absolute silence. I swear that cars and trucks will beep their horns if they feel it is too quiet, or maybe a horn is simply the reasonable alternative to a stop sign. As I walked through the market on Saturday, every other vendor guessed where I was from. According to the very petite men and women selling fruits and trinkets, I am either from California, New York, Texas and I even got one Alaska. They would give me a dissatisfied look when I would respond with a confused face and say, "No! Soy de Quito!". They hardly believed me and I don't know why. I though at 6'1" with light hair and blue eyes I would slip right through the cracks, but apparently not... It was a nice weekend and a chance to become more comfortable with the city but back to classes tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th March 2015

Quito, Museos
Glad you have a chance to spend time in Quito, wonderful city. If you have a chance to visit Museo Casa Del Alabado in Old Town do so, amazing stuff!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb