The Market


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
August 31st 2006
Published: August 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

El Mercado
Hola mis amores!! Again, this will probably be pretty short, but I figure as long as I get something down I won´t forget anything we´ve done so far. And this two or three minutes on the internet is valuable 😊 So dinner last night was amazing! And Uncle Tom, you´ll be so proud of me. We ordered a bottle of wine to go with it and I advised the group which color would be best with the food we were eating and it was amazing...I take after my godfather I guess 😉 Anyways, we got up bright and early today to head to the Panaderia and then the market. Let´s just say I know how to bargain now thanks to that market, so now it´s my mom´s turn to be proud. I even bargained with them in español....kinda tricky, but it worked out. After the market we headed to a lake that used to be a volcano before it collapsed on itself. It was gorgeous. The lake was super clear and we climbed to the top of a peak to get some good pictures....which will eventually be posted on here when I get some tiempo. (I have advanced with my Spanglish skills as well, Tom Tom) After are adventure through there we got on our buses (ours is the best because our driver is Ciro, and he´s a stud) and headed back to Quito. Now I got my five minutes of break for the entire day before I have to get ready for the ballet performance that we are headed to in about an hour. I wish I could explain better how beautiful everything is, how nice MOST of the people are, and how crazy all of the drivers are! Little tidbit about the driving here: stoplights are a suggestion, cars have the right of way, and it is apparently beneficial to hook on to the bumper of the car in front of you. I decided that I am going to move here and sell horns and brake pads because this country would not survive without them 😊 We are back in this hotel for a couple of days and then we head to Cuenca to live with our host families for a week. I gotta go get ready but I miss ya all and I´ll keep this updated as much as I can 😊 Adios, Amigos!

Advertisement



31st August 2006

Very Cool
I can't get enough of the updates. I've stopped going to classes and instead I stay in my room all day and keep hitting "Refresh" on your page. Glad you're having a blast!
31st August 2006

ooo kiki i can't believe it's been almost a week...and you have 10 more....jeez...lucky...
1st September 2006

Kiley!! I missed you today at orientation!! Thanks for your little note! Hope you are having a great time!! Make sure Colleen doesn't wander off!
1st September 2006

what a comedian
Now it's Nick and Dad's turn to be proud too. Your journal about the market is hysterical. We love you and miss you but are happy that you're having the time of your life. Soak it up. Love, Mom
1st September 2006

I miss you already...but your trip sounds amazing so far...i love this whole blog thing it keeps me connected to my love Kiley!
1st September 2006

ooh boy
Mi amor! Es cierto que estas adventurosa! I like the driving- wish we could do it here. People there aren't as nice as your ex-roomie though! Haha love you girl!
1st September 2006

So good to hear from you
I am so happy for you. What an adventure. We miss you. But I wish I were there. School will never be the same. Love the Blog. What wine did you have?
1st September 2006

snap
Can I come? Sounds yummy...'specially the stud Ciro (:
1st September 2006

high school
Kiley, Thank you for the messages from Ecuador. It's great to know that you're enjoying this time and seeing so many beautiful sites. Things here at school are moving along. We have the first home football game tonight against Fulton. We're just 3 weeks from Homecoming. Keep soaking in the travel experience, Mr. A
1st September 2006

I miss you!
Ki Ki!! It sounds like you guys are having an AMAZING time! We all miss you here but I'm so happy to hear that you guys are doing well. I can't wait to see pictures, I bet they are gorgeous! Take care, say hello to Colleen-ah for me and I loves ya!
2nd September 2006

Ciro the stud !!!
I want to see pictures of this stud Kiley Rae. I can't tell you how refreshing and wonderful it is to read your blogs each day. I'm just so excited for you to be getting this wonderful experience and from the sounds of things you are going non stop each day. Hope you don't run out of gas. You are seeing things none of us will ever get a chance to see so you are showing us through your eyes. And we thank you for that. Keep the visions coming. Love ya bunches sweetie. Uncle Dave says hi too.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb