Im here!!!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
July 9th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

a pretty house thing in Quitoa pretty house thing in Quitoa pretty house thing in Quito

Everything was very colorful!
These two and a half days have been the longest days of my life, but that is a good thing. I know that as soon as i get starting with my volunteer work it will all fly by!
Ok, so for those of you who don't know, I left for Quito, Ecuador on Friday the 7th. We had a horrible experience at the airport. The people were rude and did not like to cooperate at all. So basically, they switched our flights a few times, and we ended up taking the exact flight that we had bough tickets for. However, when we arrived in Quito, our luggage, unfortunately, did not. So it has been over 48 hours in the same clothes. I honestly feel bad for anyone who has to stand next to me!
Okay, so yesterday we spent part of the day in Quito. We walked around a lot (me in my wedges, my only shoes with me..yes mom you were right. and now my shins are killing me_ and it is such a great city! It's perfectly nestled in the Andes and you can see mountains covered in clouds. It's beautiful.
Then, last night, we made the approx 2 hour trip to Otavalo. by 8 at night it was already dark and i felt as though i should have been going to bed, but here, since it is so close to the equator, night is 12 hours and day is 12 hours. Christopher said it was like having the Equinox every day.
So last night we arrived at our hostel, Hostal el Geranio, which is GORGEOUS! hopefully i will be able to upload pictures later, I forgot the cord thing. So we arrived, met a ton of beautiful, kind people, and had a great dinner. Then, as inaugiration, of course, we went to a dance club called La Jamba. It was really cool yet creepy at the same time because all these old guys asked me to dance...Anyways, then there was a live band that played some indigenous music, with these little pipe things, it was really cool.
So it was a long day, and then today i woke up early. I don't know what it is about here, but I haven't slept past 8 at all, which for me is quite early, especially when we dont' have to wake up until about 9.30.
So I, being the first
Church in QuitoChurch in QuitoChurch in Quito

Dina, Sarah,me and Christopher
one up, got a hot shower! Sarah and Elizabeth, unfortunatley for them, did not. then we had a lovely breakfast of homemade bread, it was soo good! Really, the people here are so nice and welcoming.
Then, we walked around the market. oh. my. goodness. It is insane!! Everything is gorgeous and hand made and cheap! I got amazing earrings for 2, gauchos for 5 bucks and a beautiful blue and white woven/leather scarf/belt for 3, thanks for my bargaining techniques. And i was tempted to buy sooo much more, and it is so hard to say no. they all say, comprame, comprame amiga. and then they say the will give me a discount. ay. but please, yall tell me what you would like me to bring back if you have something particular in mind. I am intending to buy you each something. Just the colors and walking through is exhilerating. I hope the pictures work...

Well I am off for now. We are going to go up a mountain today hopefully, so that should be fun! Teaching starts tomorrow...wish me luck. and wish me luck with the luggage too, they say that it is lost. it isnt in
In Otavalo! finally!In Otavalo! finally!In Otavalo! finally!

Elizabeth, Alex y yo!
panama, which they said it was, and it is sooo frustrating. I will be so upset if I dont get it back. It just seems impossible to lose 12 bags and boxes. Urgh. Oh well.
xoxo,
Laura
(said in spanish... La oo rah) hehe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Imabora (sp?)Imabora (sp?)
Imabora (sp?)

A beautiful sight here in Otavalo, it is an active volcano!
Hostal el GeranioHostal el Geranio
Hostal el Geranio

Our amazing hostel, we have a great family and it is soo beautiful!
MercadoMercado
Mercado

The market was HUGE and it was only sunday! apparently in will be twice as big on saturday!
HottHott
Hott

Alex in a really hot hat that they wear for the festival of the sun!
More marketMore market
More market

Look at the colors!
Even more marketEven more market
Even more market

It was huge, no lie


11th July 2006

HFBS
I promise not to say "told ya so!" The pictures are just awesome!!
12th July 2006

Great pics
Wow, what great pics! The colors are awesome. Good luck and hope they find your luggage, but with those prices, you could buy yourself a whole new wardrobe.

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1118s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb