Kids


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

If there's one thing that this trip has made me realize its that I LOVE kids! Especially all these Larcacunga ones! Yes, i often get frustrated with them, but then at other times i just want to hug them to death! I'm always so happy when we're up there. I definitely like just playing with them better than the actual teaching, but both parts are good. And I think I like teaching here better than I would in the states. Here we're there friends as well. We're encouraged to run around and play with them, tickle them, hug them, tease them, all of which would not be allowed at home. This part is possibly shaping up to be my favorite part of my gap year. But we'll see. It's going to be ridiculously hard to leave!
And I'm really glad I got put at Larcacunga. They are supposedly the kids with the most spunk, while some of the kids at the other schools are more quiet and shy. I'm sure all the kids at all the schools are great, but these ones have lots of energy and, yes, attitude, but for me that makes it fun and makes me like the kids that much more. It makes it a challenge to teach them of course, but definitely fun.

I have a new toy. Juan, Luis, and Mario (3 brothers at our school) are teaching Maya and I how to use a 'trompo'. It is sort of a cross between a spinning top and a yo-yo. You wind a long string up around it and then throw it on the ground where it spins. It's actually pretty hard! It's hard to get it to 'dance' because you have to throw it just the right way, but it's also hard to wind the string around because it just likes to slide right back off the edge! And while it's spinning the boys can somehow wrap their string around it and make it jump up into their hands! I don't even know how it's possible! And I want to learn! They all find it highly entertaining to teach us so it's of course fun!

Elections are in April here. Local and province elections and also presidential. And the propaganda has of course already started! A long time ago! Every day there are parades of cars that drive down the main street with blaring horns, banners, etc. Really loud!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb