Last Week


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
June 1st 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's my last night in Ecuador. Not much new to report as I spent all my time since the last blog working at the Foundation. I thought I'd just end it off properly with a nice recap. When Jon and Robin returned to Mindo after their weekend at the beach, I started working with Jon at the school in the mornings and only working on the trails in the afternoon. It was a great week, and it was amazing and so humbling to work with kids again like I have in both Tijuana and New York. We were teaching english, and the school was so great although there wasn't all that much to work with. Yesterday afternoon we packed everything up and said goodbye to Luis and his family who had provided so much for us during the time that we were there. He said that he was very happy to have us there and was very grateful for the work we did and the company that we provided for him and his son Daniel. We then caught a bus to Quito, and had a pretty chill night, saving our energy for today's trip to Otavalo. The saturday market in Otavalo is legendary, and we managed to capitalize on some great deals. I managed to find souvenirs for myself, family and others, and I still have some money left. Amazing, no? We just returned to Quito and are about to go out for a sushi dinner. I fly out tomorrow morning at 11:30 and expect to spend the majority of the day trying to sleep on a plane. I'll be back in Vancouver on Monday, and am ridiculously excited to see everyone again. Thanks so much for everyone who's followed my updates for keeping me in your thoughts and prayers. It's been a great trip, and if anything it's made me want to travel even more than I did before (if that's possible). That should do it.
Peace and Love!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb