Esta bien


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
August 11th 2005
Published: August 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Juana and TatianaJuana and TatianaJuana and Tatiana

This is my hostmother, Juana, who is busy running the family's restaurant and her lovely daughter Tatiana who is currently enjoying the summer holidays.

Hola chicas y chicos,

all is well here in Ecuador. 6 lessons of Spanish a day are definitely doing my head in and although Senor Fernando is ever so nice, he does go on about irregular verbs in the imperfect tense - not much use for me who still struggles to string together a sentence (ie main clause, SVO structure!). I find the conversations with the locals are a lot more useful and they don't correct me all the time either!! (I have started reviewing my own teaching approach, no doubt!!)

The family is really nice and I am able to say a lot more to them. We eat together at lunchtime in their restaurant and they are very helpful with everything. I think I have spotted a food pattern: la sopa, rice, potatoes, lentils, peas and chicken. It's all I have had since I have arrived but it always tastes good - and there is lots of it, too! The family has just employed an indigeneous women to help in the kitchen (she isn't allowed to sit at the table with us but eats in the kitchen on her own!!!) and I recorded her today on my
other volunteers in Otavaloother volunteers in Otavaloother volunteers in Otavalo

This is all six of us on Katie's (behind me) last night in Ecuador. Aged between 18-30 and from the US,UK, Germany, Switzerland and Ireland we are quite a nice gang.
dictaphone talking in her tribal language which is called Quichua.

Shopping next: I have purchased about 10 scarfs already - the quality is good and things are really cheap (guess what you'll get for Christmas...). Needless to say that I feel awful being a tourist with money amongst lots of people who are trying to make a living. However, people are so friendly here and seem quite content with their lives.

School starts next week - finally! Monday, Wednesday and Friday are teaching and learning days and Tuesday and Thursdays is reserved for any DIY work needed. I hope that Nicola, the girl I will be working with, is good at any DIY related tasks!!!

Re: Household: I did some washing today using the stone sink on our "roof terrace" which I quite enjoyed. It was very inspiring to be surrounded by four mountains over 4000 metres when scrubbing your smelly socks...

All of us volunteers are going to spend the weekend in Quito to see one of us off to the States and I am looking forward to exploring the capital.

Hope all is well. Steffi X

PS: I hope to put some pictures on next week, once I have been in school.

Advertisement



12th August 2005

Interesting to read Steffi. Keep buying the local wares - your money will help their livelihood. Don't give up on the imperfect tense! Have you tackled the subjunctive yet? That will really confuse you!
16th August 2005

scarves
Dera oh dear I thought i was the queen of scarves. May have to fly to Accessorise to update my collection!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb