Mindo


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Mindo
September 15th 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was friday night, we were all going out to the discos. I was talking to my friend Martin about how much i wanted to go to Mindo, cuz i hadnt been there yet, and its supposed to be incredibly beautiful. And he was like if you want to go to Mindo, we can go to Mindo. So of course i was like hells yeah... So we packed all our stuff... and headed for Mindo, at midnight. So spontaneous, I love it. So the next day I got up super early cuz of the effin roosters are EVERYWHERE... omg they are so loud, I though i was going to buy a shot gun and kill all of them. But then i went out side and they were so cute, so it was all good. So all day we walked around Mindo, it is such a beautiful small town. Its about 3 hours from Quito, and its a completely different world there. Its still in the Highland area, but its totally subtropical weather. Really hot weather, very sunny, it was paradise!! Its so natural there, there are animals everywhere. The people are very different. They are so relaxed, its so different than Quito. Quito is a huge city, very busy busy all the time. But Mindo, wow. I really didnt want to leave. So one of my friend Johanna, her parents own a butterfly farm there. So we hitched a ride with them in the back of a truck. The butterfly farm is huge, there are like millions of butterflies who fly everywhere. Different species of butterflies big, small, different colors... There cute from far away, but there flying all over you, not fun. I hate insects. But yeah it was really interesting, cuz they bread the butterflies there. Its really amazing. But, I feel in love with Camilla, their dog. Holly, I almost kidnapped her. Shes so beautiful. Mindo is also known for there birds like world wide. They have a lot of different species of birds. I didnt go bird watching, but we saw some really beautiful ones just when we were walking. Its really paradise. We also went to visit a Cow farm. These people live on the farm, they have no tv, dvd, computers, cell phones, cars, all that material stuff that we depend on, and they were happy. Really happy, they live the simple life. It just showed me that I dont need clothes or a cell phone to be happy, although i still want it! Mouha... But it was so amazing to get an insight on how these people live, they were such genuinely nice people. I definetly recommend Mindo to anyone who comes to visit Ecuador. Beautiful!! No words to describe!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb